Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Looking for watercolor inspiration?

After all, it’s World Watercolor Month. Yes, WORLD WATERCOLOR MONTH! Loads of people are doing watercolors every day – or as often as they can. Check out the information on the Doodlewash website to find out more! Anyway, I just had to get some watercolor in this month. I didn’t know it would be hard right to get going. But with a little help from Wendy Brightbills class on painting abstracts, I did.

Jul21_watercolor2

So watercolors  are all the rage. And there I was, constantly making my small acrylic paintings. Ha. I was starting to feel I needed to hurry and started more than two paintings each day. For some reason that works on some days (I get to make three or four paintings!), but not on others (I create mud). Well, I I’m almost finished doing the 100 paintings I wanted. The final ones were started the other day; they do need some tweaking. Some only need final touches. But even so, I just can’t stop making those square paintings. By now it’s a kind of habit, when I start my art, I want to start a square painting. It’s a bit like an addiction… But I did want to start doing some watercolor work. So as a way to trick myself, I cut the paper in the same way as I do on the square paintings (ha!). And I got a result. And another!

Jul21_watercolor1

Enter a caption

I took some inspiration from “Letting Go : An Exploration of Abstract Painting”, a fun new abstract painting class hosted on Jeanne Olivers website. The class is taught by Wendy Brightbill who makes the most wonderful abstract paintings. It turns out she mixes all kinds of media in interesting ways. I’ve been making a lot of work lately and it felt like I was pushing a lot of me, my own mark making and such, into the 100 square paintings. So I was starting to feel a little empty. So I will certainly be looking into Wendy’s course more to get my shots of fresh inspiration.

LINKS
* Find the course – Letting Go: An exploration of Abstract Painting – on Jeanne Oliver ning site. There’s also a fun give-away (a coupon for art supplies ) going on (NB: until July 24).

* World Watercolor Month , find it on Doodlewash.com. You can also find a page with creative prompts there too!

4 comments on “Looking for watercolor inspiration?

  1. These are so cool! I’m continually impressed by abstract paintings! I can’t do them! hehe… I really love the textures in the first one! 😃

    • corinnebekker
      July 23, 2016

      Thanks so much Charlie for your sweet comment. Well you are very accomplished at representational art – wonderful animals – and your colors are amazing. But I’m convinced if you put yourself to it, you’d succeed. 🙂

  2. Sheila Marie Delgado
    July 25, 2016

    Love these! So bummed I am missing World Watercolor month! My supplies are all still in storage, or buried. Uggghhh! But I am so glad you having fun! Thanks for sharing the links!

Leave a comment

AnnasLp (AnnasLittlePeople)

#dolls #crafts #pindolls #dollsjeweleries

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art

Mark Tedman

abstraction art

Lucy’s coloring book

Color me brightly

Girl and Duck

creative writing | creative life

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

Marlene Lee Art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends