Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Quick drawing, quick share

Hey there! I haven’t been giving the blog much attention lately. Summer, you know!

Okay, I’m back at home, started preparing for the class I’m teaching in the fall. And just getting back to my regular drawing habits. I love doing quick drawings. Good to keep the ‘seeing’ bit of drawing up – and seeing shadows / values in case of this drawing.

Quick flick drawing – or as Annie Hamman calls it ‘fast and furious’ drawing. It’s supposed to go really fast, use only straight lines. But as it happens, I’m adjusting the technique as I go, adding quirky, wonky lines and a scribble here and there.

Aug23_face_quick_after Unsplash photo by Dimitri Ilkevich

Quick drawing, 5-10 minutes max, after photo reference by Dimitri Ilkevich from Unsplash

I intended to do several quick drawings just now, but after the first one, when I started my second in graphite I got sucked into the work, forgot the time, and ended up with this after approximately 30 or 40 minutes (I didn’t time it so not sure about that).

Aug23_face_after Unsplash photo by Dimitri Ilkevich_crop

Graphite in sketchbook, 30-40 minute drawing, after same photo by D. Ilkevich

So now I’ve gotten to know her, I could try an even slower drawing or painting. Or not. We’ll see. πŸ™‚

We’ve been away from home on holiday, visiting Denmark. Seeing different part of the country, seeing it in a crazy, uncommon heat (so many dry fields, leafs dropping from trees in campsites, ouch). Lovely art in museums. So that explains my being away and having a hard time returning to writing the blog. πŸ™‚

 

3 comments on “Quick drawing, quick share

  1. Sheila Marie Delgado
    August 23, 2018

    Sounds like an awesome trip πŸ™‚ Beautiful work here πŸ™‚

    • corinnebekker
      August 23, 2018

      Thanks so much, Sheila. So nice to hear from you. How are you?

      • Sheila Marie Delgado
        September 6, 2018

        Hi Corinne, I am doing well πŸ™‚ I followed your comment on my blog, to see if I have been missing your posts. But I guess I am getting them. πŸ™‚ LOL. Hope you are well, and having fun with all you are doing πŸ™‚ Enjoy πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2018 by in My work.
AnnasLp (AnnasLittlePeople)

#dolls #crafts #pindolls #dollsjeweleries

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art

Mark Tedman

abstraction art

Lucy’s coloring book

Color me brightly

Girl and Duck

creative writing | creative life

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

Marlene Lee Art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❀

method two madness

a blog of two friends