Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Fish

The fish challenge is not forgotten. I haven’t done many, but if I put myself to it, I will get there. I will find days where I just do several fish drawings and paintings.

Sepxx_First fish

I used water-soluble Inktense pencils (mostly) for this , both dry first and then adding water with a brush and also using them straight into the wet page. Oh yes, and a graphite pencil. I will vary on this one I think.

This piece was inspired by the illustration on the cover of a book by Mies van Hout; in Dutch it is called “Vrolijk”, in English it is called “Happy”. I stayed close to the shape she chose for her fish, but I made this one using different supplies: hers look like they were made using oil or soft pastels and paint on a black background. I hope to study her work in more detail to find how she manages to create the different expressions and emotions. She probably made lots of sketches to find the ones she liked best and found their way into the book.

LINKS for the 50 fish challenge

The 50 fish challenge: make 50 pieces of art work, any size, any technique, using any art supply you like between September 1st and October 30th. Share using #create50fish.

Jill Kuhn : Jill’s art journal a blog on her wonderful art, often with a comic twist

Kathrin Werner Illustration : her website and blog where Kathrin shares her fun cartoony drawings

 

4 comments on “Fish

  1. Sheila Marie Delgado
    September 11, 2017

    Love the shapes 🙂

  2. toribev
    September 11, 2017

    There are so many challenges in September, but I have never heard of the 50 Fish challenge. You have definitely captured a happy expression in this fish and I love the wavy lines of waves in the background which bring a sense of moving forward. Really wonderful.

    Dropping in from the Artfully Wild Blog Along group.

    • corinnebekker
      September 12, 2017

      Hi Tori, thanks for stopping by and for your observations!I’ll be sure to visit your blog in the next few days. And thanks – it’s always nice to hear what others see in a piece as it’s usually different from what I see. The 50 fish challenge is a one that was started among friends, so that’s why you haven’t heard about it.

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

