Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Back again and a new challenge

 

Sep1_ATC #fish50 nr1 (2)

Fish #1 , Artist Trading Card, mixed media on watercolor paper. Drawing inspired by the art work of Mies van Hout

Hello, hello, hello!!!

I’m back, after a social media hiatus of about 8 weeks! I needed that, some time away, relaxing. The summer had a great start, some lazy weeks at home and some in the wonderful country of Norway. Summer ended with some downs unfortunately. For this reason, I took even more time away from the Internet than intended.

But now I’m ready for it all again, just in time to get going on art making and starting up all kinds of things. I’ll be teaching art again. And I’ll be blogging regularly too. There’s loads of stuff happening. Bear with me, I’ll tell the stories further down the line.

Fish challenge

Let me tell you one thing  for now. I’m taking part in a new art challenge. Long time readers may remember earlier challenges, like ‘a year of daily creating’ (September 2014 until September 1st 2015). That was quite the challenge! Even before that, there was the bird challenge. That was three years ago. I mention the bird challenge because of a few similarities between the two challenges. First and most obvious, the fish challenge is like the bird challenge because we take on one theme, one subject matter. It’s three years since we started that challenge. That time we agreed on making birds. It was Kathrin Werner, Jill Kuhn and me at first. We all made lots of birds, explored techniques and material and saw our art skills grow.

For the fish challenge the idea is that we all make 50 pieces of art (any size, any materials) about fish between September 1st and October 30th. Draw, paint, collage – anything goes as far as technique and art supplies are concerned. For now there’s four participants. This time Kathrin and Jill started it. And there’s also HeideElise and me. I will share links to their blogs here as soon as possible. And anyone is welcome to join the challenge! We share online using a hashtag: #create50fish.

I made some artist trading cards for my first two installments. I had to be quick, as I was going out last night. I looked for my stash of backgrounds (originally meant for collages and mixed media pieces), picked out some beautiful green and blue pages. I also took out three letter size sheets of watercolor paper, and started decorating them with watercolor paper (and another set in progress).

Up above you see my first fish piece, a small piece : an artist trading card. The shape of the fish was inspired by the work of illustrator Mies van Hout, who created a book with wonderful fish. More on her work later perhaps.

I also started some in watercolor. Here’s one with charcoal pencil and colored pencil added.

Sep1_ATC #fish50 nr2 (2)

Fish #2, #create50fish, watercolor and colored pencil on watercolor paper

See you soon!

LINKS for the 50 fish challenge

Jill Kuhn : Jill’s art journal a blog on her wonderful art, often with a comic twist

Kathrin Werner Illustration : her website and blog where Kathrin shares her fun cartoony drawings

 

12 comments on “Back again and a new challenge

  1. kathiwerner
    September 2, 2017

    Your Happy fish is s very good start, Corinne! So nice that wenn are doing this challenge together

    • corinnebekker
      September 3, 2017

      Thanks Kathrin! And yes, it’s great to be in this together – again!

  2. kathiwerner
    September 2, 2017

    And I have two books of Mies Van Hout- she is wonderful!

  3. Jill Kuhn
    September 2, 2017

    Love your fish, Corinne!! 😃👍🐠 YAY! To be doing another art challenge again!! 😍 Thank you for mentioning my blog! ❤️💜💙

    • corinnebekker
      September 3, 2017

      Thank you, Jill! YAY!
      Oh I Wish I knew how to do all those hearts…. I’ll have to look it up on the MIGHTY INTERNET.

  4. Jill Kuhn
    September 2, 2017

    Oh, and I love Mies Van Hout – have 3 of her books!! ❤️

  5. Sheila Marie Delgado
    September 2, 2017

    YAY! Can’t wait to see more, this is so fun 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      September 3, 2017

      Thanks Sheila! Now I’m back, I hope I can check in with your blog more often again too.

  6. TheForgottenMuse
    September 21, 2017

    I love your fish! That first one makes me smile, it looks so happy. Thank you for sharing them!

    • corinnebekker
      September 22, 2017

      Nice to hear you like my art. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

