Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Finding a fairy face

Jun18_fairy face 1

Somehow the face I showed last time led me to drawing more faces of a similar shape, and eventually to this fairy-like face. I started out drawing a rough edge, some eyes, nose and mouth, not really planning beforehand what the face would look like, apart from the rounded shape. I was reminded of some of the faces Tamara Laporte sometimes draws, more round than oval, with a little pointed chin. Mostly girls. She calls them lollypop girls and they are cute. I used some of that idea for the face shape, but then wanted pointy ears to go with the spiky hair. This was no longer a lollypop girl. Then I started thinking along these lines: “So you’re a fairy, eh? Well then, you’d better have green hair and green eyes, don’t you?”.

The drawing was rough, in Inktense pencil, water added to intensify and spread the color. Then charcoal on the edges. Then several layers of watercolor and more pencil. The charcoal started to run when I added more layers of watercolor. Unfortunately that will only get worse by adding more watercolor. I did think the face itself got better and better after four layers of watercolor. I decided that to make a better version I’d better start a new one, a more clean one this time. And keep this one, to remind me how I started this. On to the next!

June is Faces Month. I decided to do many faces and share often. At first I made at least one face a day. I’m slowing down now. I’ve started another face on which I will take more time to make. I will show it’s progress at least once before the end of the month

2 comments on “Finding a fairy face

  1. Karen
    June 28, 2017

    I like him. He has an interesting face.

  2. Sheila Marie Delgado
    June 28, 2017

    Love it 🙂 I don’t see messy, just shadow… really love his hair.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2017 by in Drawing, Faces, My work, Tekenen.
Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

