Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

June: drawing and painting faces

 

Faces are a great subject, but most of us find it hard to draw or paint a face, many are too scared to even try. When I worked at my Year of Daily Creating I took one month to do a lot of faces (and joined a wonderful drawing class too, ‘Scribble art’ by Julie Johnson). I made over a hundred drawings in that one month and learned so much. But that’s quite a while ago, my hand is no longer accustomed to making faces (I thought) and I’d love to return to them. When I heard that Lynn Whipple (painter, collage artist and art educator) was going to teach a class on Making Faces I was excited.  So I joined Lynn’s class and declared that I’d make June a month for doing faces. More about Lynn Whipple’s class later.

By the end of May I just started doing some faces, to get warmed up as it were. Using different media, playing a bit with different techniques. I used some of what I learned from Julie Johnson.

May2728_LFI #1 girl_in graphite impr

Sketch of a girl in pencil and graphite, based on a reference photo by Kara Bullock

 

May28_LFI #1 girl_scribbled

Scribble drawing using Faber Castell Pitt pens (Black and grey), sepia pen by Derwent and white gel pen (same reference photo)

Early this year I enrolled in another Faces class, “Let’s Face It 2017”, hosted by Kara Bullock. I have to admit that I never got to start any of the lessons. “Let’s Face It” is a year long class devoted to the human face, with many in depth lessons, hours and hours of video. Kara Bullock and a host of guest teachers share many ways to draw and paint the face. It’s awesome. especially if you invest the time to study and practice. By now 22 weeks have passed and a well of ideas is there to explore and so much to gain. I had lost contact, didn’t think I’d be able to catch up. I’m using the momentum of this month of faces – and Lynn’s class – to dip into Let’s Face It, too.

 

Here’s a peak at the first painting I’ve started.

2017-05-29 16.52.42

Drawing in watersoluble pencil on wood

PS I used a reference photo by Kara Bullock for the painting and for the two drawings above. Links to her platform below.

PPS Early this year I was involved in the online class ‘Paint Mojo’ by Tracy Verdugo. Tracy Verdugo is an incredibly creative and inspiring teacher. She will also be hosting a faces class this year too.

LINKS to my sources of inspiration

  • Kara Bullocks platform for her art and classes, Kara Bullock Art. You’ll find ‘Let’s Face It 2017’, and several other classes, also by other artists.
  • Julie Johnson taught the technique of scribble drawing (and a lot more) during the course “Scribble Art” . The class is available as a self study online class; it’s part of Jeanne Oliver’s platform for art: Jeanne Oliver Creative Network, an incredible source of inspiration.
  • Tracy Verdugo makes wonderful colorful art, and teaches online classes such as the Paint Mojo ecourse, some Mini Mojo courses such as ‘Pattern, Color, Texture, ‘Luscious Landscapes’ and ‘Animalitos’. And soon a course on the human face.
  • Lynn Whipple’s class “Making Faces” is hosted by Carla Sonheim, Carla Sonheim Presents under her Online Classes.
  • You can find loads of inspiration on Pinterest. I’ll be adding more faces to my inspiration boards on my Pinterest acount soon.

 

JUNE = FACE MAKING MONTH I challenged myself to draw and paint a lot of faces this month and be creative (almost) every day. I will share two or three times a week on the blog this month. So stay tuned for more!

6 comments on “June: drawing and painting faces

  1. Karen
    June 3, 2017

    Your faces are good!

  2. Jill Kuhn
    June 3, 2017

    Wow! Your face drawings are stunning, Corinne!! I will have to check out Kara Bullock’s class. I have been taking a couple of face classes from Toni Burt and really enjoying those too. And it is great being in Lynn’s class with you!! 😊🎨👍

    • corinnebekker
      June 3, 2017

      Thanks so much, Jill. I’ll check out Toni Burt, I hadn’t heard of that artist. Thanks! And yes, it’s fun to be in a class together again.

  3. Sheila Marie Delgado
    June 4, 2017

    Really love these 🙂

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

