Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

R is for RED

Sometimes I just have to draw. I don’t always know why. I see something, I grab a pencil, pen or whatever is at hand and draw. The other day when I started to have lunch, I was sitting next to – or even under – a large bouquet of flowers. There was a red marker on the table. I grabbed a sketchbook and drew. First some of the flowers separately, as they caught my eye. Then some looking only at the flowers – not the paper – making a so called blind contour drawing. Then the whole bouquet without lifting the marker from the paper (except where it bounced off of it).

sep-8_-small-drawings_bouquet-details          sep8_quick-small-drawings

sep8_quick-oneliner-of-bouquet

Oneliner drawing of bouquet, red marker in sketchbook

Later that evening, I felt I hadn’t done enough. It was the eighth of the month, and some bloggers organize a ‘draw a bird day’. I hadn’t done a bird that day, so I grabbed the marker again and only could come up with the following… Sorry guys, it was not a day for a full-fledged representational drawing or painting of a bird. But it’s my kind of bird.

sep8_-bird-drawing

For some reason it was a red drawing day. I even tried my hand at a face, drawing from imagination only. It was late, I was lying on my couch. And as it’s a marker and it’s red at that: no erasing, live with what you get. Well, see for yourself.

sep8_-face-drawing_on-the-couch

It wasn’t an assignment for the alphabet class (Y is for Yellow), but I’ll post it under the heading R anyway. A new category on the blog “Alphabet art”, partly for that class ( Y is for Yellow), or when I feel like something to do with the alphabet.

2 comments on “R is for RED

  1. grlie
    September 26, 2016

    Love them, especially the bird!

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

