Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 19: Flowers of sadness

Flowers of sadness revisited. My installmentt on day 19 of the 30 paintings in 30 days challenge.

Jul8_flowers of saddness WIP2 44

Flowers of sadness, Acrylic paint on watercolor paper, 20x20cm

I painted these in July. The sadness had to do with the illness of a friend. Since then I’ve revisited the image and painted similar paintings both of the same size (20x20cm) and larger. I was quite happy when it turned out I could make this grow bigger in size (40x40cm).

aug26_flowers-of-sadness-bigger-40x40cm

Flowers of sadness #2, 40x40cm , acrylic paint  on canvas

The two are both in the studio, can’t show them together yet, since I’ve not been able to go there to make a photo. I will have to see whether larger than that is possible, I used my fingers to paint, and fingers don’t grow bigger, you can only use them more boldly, but how far will that take me. It’ll be interesting to experiment other ways to ‘grow’ these.

I was feeling a bit down last night. My knee issues are slowly improving, but really slowly. When I do go there, I have to cycle for half an hour and will probably suffer the consequences of pain in the leg at night. It’s getting on my nerves that I can’t go to the studio right now and haven’t been able to use it the way I really wanted to when I started it, namely to paint big. First I fell ill, next I had a shoulder problem (almost healed but still not completely). The 100 small paintings were fun to do, and may lead to larger paintings, but hey, I would have loved to have the choice when to go small, or when big.

Day

30 paintings in 30 days challenge is hosted by Leslie Saeta. Check out  her 30 in 30 blog for all the wonderful art being shared. I’ve come across wonderful artists and love seeing how they interpret the challenge, what they are doing this month.

One comment on “Day 19: Flowers of sadness

  1. Sheila Marie Delgado
    September 19, 2016

    Hang in there! Pain bites the big one. Be good to yourself.. wishing you quick healing 🙂

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

