Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Four small square paintings on show

NEWS: From August 22 until October 3rd I’m showing some of my recent paintings in a window in Tuinwijk, a nice neighborhood of my town Utrecht.

These two paintings (30 x 30 cm acrylic on canvas) are there now.

As are two of my tree paintings on paper – 20 x 20 cm – which I framed neatly in a black frame (30x30cm). It’s these two, the blue one plus yesterday’s tree. By the way, I’m entering the blue tree painting for day 10 of the challenge.

The sun was blazing hot when I put my paintings there. Not the best light to get a good photo. Hope to go back and get one soon.

The location : ‘Tuinwijk’ means literally ‘garden neighborhood’ – it is a neighborhood with lovely houses and trees on the streets. As most Dutch people living in this neighborhood have a bicycle – as do their children – so they need a place to put them safe. Also to keep the street from being blocked by all those bikes. Though the houses are nice and many have gardens, many don’t have a way into their garden from the street. The city of Utrecht offers sheds in some neigborhoods for common use. This is in fact part of one of the houses.

The windows of the house were blocked off with a white wall and looked rather bleak. Until an artist living in the neighborhood had the wonderful idea of having art in the window. She arranges this every year that there is art in the window and that it is regularly changed.

I like the idea that many people living in Tuinwijk walk by my paintings on their way to get their bike in and out of the bike shed behind the window.

6 comments on “Four small square paintings on show

  1. Sheila Marie Delgado
    September 10, 2016

    Wonderful idea πŸ™‚ Congratulations πŸ™‚

  2. Dotty Seiter
    September 10, 2016

    Corinne, congratulations on showing your work at the tuinwijk! I lived in the Netherlands for two years as a child, 1960-62 : )

    • corinnebekker
      September 10, 2016

      Oh thanks! And thanks for stopping by on my blog! How fun to think that you lived here in the period I was born.

  3. carolee36
    September 10, 2016

    Love these, they are so colorful and joyful.

  4. Jill Kuhn
    September 10, 2016

    I like the ones you chose for your show! Wishing you much success, Corinne! πŸ˜πŸŽ¨πŸŒŸπŸ‘

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❀

method two madness

a blog of two friends

