Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Growing pains

I plan to make larger paintings based on the series of hundred. I will choose from the hundred paintings the ones I really like. I would like to try ‘blowing them up bigger’ as it were. Growing them. I started doing that a week ago. I already showed you a series of three that are 30 x 30 cm instead of the 20×20. Baby steps, baby steps. I will do more of that size, but have also started some on size 40x40cm.

This week I started to make collages of my scan images. Sets of 25. Here’s one of them

First25appr Collage

First set of 28 of the 100 paintings, starting mid May

There’s quite a few I really love. Here’s two from early July. I put several paintings out on the table (including these two) and got going.

I started out by painting a few more 20×20 paintings, to get into the feeling for them. I copied some I made earlier that I love, or at least I tried to. On the first and third I think I was successful getting the same feel as on earlier paintings, the second is a new one. I used different paints, so there’s a slight shift in the colors.

You might call them warming up paintings. I went on to work on the larger canvases. On one painting I succeeded in producing a similar painting. On the second I couldn’t get it to work and decided to make a more layered painting. I ended up in a more or less impressionist style. I was thinking of a painting class where we used stippling. Stippling shifted to larger patches of color. I need to go back to the studio to see if they are finished.

2016-08-26 17.35.36

Here’s a close up of one of them. I may have to get rid of the flowers.

aug26_blooms and abstract background4040

When I was happy with the stage of this painting, I decided to try on a larger canvas.

Since then I’ve been making smaller paintings again at home. Only some feel successful. In fact today I think only one  (the colorful trees) make the mark of ‘good enough’. (Yes, I’m noticing a lot of inner critic activity these days.) Well, it is the only one that makes my eyes really happy. I like the lightness of the yellow and bright aqua and light blue.

Aug28_Trees in landscape

Colored trees in landscape, 20x20cm

I rather like these colorful trees in landscape. The rest of the small paintings I did earlier this week, I didn’t like very much. I felt like I’m in a phase I need to move through quickly. I’m showing the rest anyway (see below). Just to share the way the process works.

 

 

I think I need to do something different from painting of these squares for a while. Someone should tell me:”Go sit under a tree and rest, woman!” I hope I think of that next time I’m in front of a mirror. 🙂

The countdown. Studio day was August 26. The small paintings were made on August 28 and 29. And there was a zentangle tile as well on August 29. It took a long time making the shading work on that one. Looking at it now, I’m quite happy with it. Two days to go. 🙂

Aug29_Zentangle tile

In fact. I’m a day behind posting. I’ve done a long session of zentangle practice today, trying out new patterns. That’s enough for today. One day to go. Tomorrow is the last day. I think I’m going to cry. Happy tears, mind you!

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

