Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Tangle feathers and a squid

August 24 and 25 I practiced drawing feathers in my zentangle practice journal. As I had already done some earlier, this wasn’t hard. it was rather fun. I played with the dots surrounding the feather to suggest a background (I saw that in one of the examples in my book). It reminded me of my school lessons on using (dip) pen and ink, making dots, dashes and hatching on little squares on a page. Nice memory that. πŸ™‚

Aug24_zentangle practice

The next day I drew another feather and decided to put in on another pattern, and turned it into a kind of cushion. πŸ™‚Aug25_zentangle practice_part1

I wanted to try using a thicker pen – switched back to a different idea. I made a variation on a composition by Judy Lehman given in Beckah Krahulas book ‘One Zentangle a Day’.Β  I used the combination of the patterns Squid, the leaf pattern Ynix and the flower shape pattern Pepper (like she did). I made the squid more prominent and added some details using other patterns (e.g. Printemps, the little swirly dots in the bottom corners).

Aug25_zentangle practice_part2 thick lines

I used a Faber-Castell brush pen and a pen with a chisel tip this time. They are new for me. I rather like the effect of these pens, especially the brush pen. The lines look really interesting, they are not the same width everywhere.

Only one drawback to this: I put this piece on the same page as the delicate feather on a cushion. This Squid piece totally overpowers the other one. Well. Lesson learned. πŸ™‚

These were done on days 360 and 361 of YODC. After this: 6 days to go!

 

6 comments on “Tangle feathers and a squid

  1. Jill Kuhn
    August 27, 2016

    Beautiful Corinne!! I especially like your feathers! ❀️🎨

  2. Sheila Marie Delgado
    August 28, 2016

    Love the feathers, and the squid flower is really cool!

  3. kcg4422
    September 3, 2016

    Really love your pen and ink work …

  4. kcg4422
    September 3, 2016

    Also I love all the work you do and have been following along faithfully as new ones got sent to my email. Did not know you have wordpress or would have been posting more comments along the way. Keep up the great work!

    • corinnebekker
      September 3, 2016

      Thanks so much for being a follower. Glad you liked it. I do intend to go on doing daily work. I’m pondering new projects to grow out of this one. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❀

method two madness

a blog of two friends

