Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Wreck that painting!

August 23. A perfect day to wreck a painting. Or bring one back that’s already been wrecked a few days ago!

I finished two paintings today – totally different from each other. One is rather peaceful and mostly in blue. The other is busy and dark – and contains abstract flowers.

How are they connected? They seem so different? You can probably  understand better how it’s possible that I produced them both in the same sitting, if you see the other two that came in between- and are still in progress. (Or at least I thought so at the time.)

 

Long story. How did I end up with these four?

Number 1 seems a simple painting, in just blues. I made it after I wrecked another painting. I’ve been working with the square paintings – sometimes finishing the same day, but also sometimes layering and layering until they’re good to my eyes (or wrecked completely). The other day I made a painting in mostly oranges and pinks. New for me (the colors) and an experiment to keep the colors so close together. The day after I thought I’d add a little complementary colors here and there to spice it up. Oh my! I wrecked it. Ah well, I thought, there’s always another day…. So that’s why this time I made sure to keep it simple and NOT to add any other colors.

Number 2 was made with a more diverse color scheme – to balance things out on the day (as it were): one or two blues, plus bright aqua, a turquoise, purple, red (napthol crimson), raw umber (and colors mixed out of these). And I simply played with cloud shapes. I like these, they show up more often. In this painting I rather like the color scheme. The painting itself is rather simple. At the time I thought I’d add something later (some marks, a focal image?), but I may just leave it. This is all part of the process.

Number 3 actually is the wrecked painting covered up using the same colors as number 2. The original is no longer visible, it’s hidden under the top layer. I felt a bit stupid afterwards. So far I’ve been keeping everything I made during the year of daily creating. The original plan was to make something every day. I would keep it. I take the motto “there’s always another day” to mean I can always make a new painting that I like better. I don’t have to throw anything away. For the past three months (except during the holidays) I made more than one small painting each day . I started doing that around mid May. Still for a long time I wanted to keep both when I did two. Just to have a reference or archive to go back to at the end of the year. But now suddenly I covered this one up and turned it into a new painting. Ah well. No way back. Number 3 is now also work in progress.

Number 1. Unfortunately I didn’t take a picture of the orange and pink painting. Anyway, what I did once, I can do again. So I made a similar painting, similar in approach as the one I covered – this time using mostly blue tints and shades. That’s how I ended up painting number 1. To not fall into the same trap as before (let’s add some other colors!), I had to practice constraint. No other colors. Take time to let it dry. It was OK to add some pencil on top – but with restraint, not much and only in similar colors.

Number four is layered as well. After painting and letting dry, I added oil pastels.

 

2 comments on “Wreck that painting!

  1. Sheila Marie Delgado
    August 26, 2016

    The blue is awesome, it would be a fabulous repeating pattern. Happy painting to you 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      August 26, 2016

      Thanks! I am trying more in this style. I’m inspired by Wendy Brightbills course Letting Go (on Jeanne Olivers ning site).

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

