Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Reds, oranges and purples… or: what Zentangle does to my mind

Do you believe, I actually missed doing the square acrylic paintings? I didn’t feel it during the holidays, but since returning it took only a few days and I had to try it again. This may turn out to be only a one off, or only warming up paintings, I don’t know. I’m looking for a way back into this practice. How will I go on, do similar ones like before, or shall I change it up a little. On one of them I let the experience with Zentangle pieces inform the (scratching into the) painting.

These were done over two days. One for the paint, the next for added details in black and white paint and colored pencil.

Rather dark, don’t you think? I thought afterwards, that in a next session I would add more white paint again.

In fact, the next day I saw a slide show of yellow flowers in the Yellow group, a tribute to Shena Meadowcroft who died recently. I just made two new squares, one with a flower, one with a star. Not really happy with this painting, but I’m getting back into it.

Aug19_square_another Shena flower

The star doesn’t feel finished, but hey, there it is. (I know by now, that I just needed this warmup to get into it now.)  I may add marks on another day. Or try that on a new one.

Aug19_square_ on a star WIP

This was art work from August 17 through 19; days 351 through 353 of YODC.

And I’m back to doing some daily practicing of tangles and trying them out on a square shape (I mark out a shape of approximately 10x10cm in my sketchbook).

This is from August 21, day 355 of YODC. And yes, it made me feel very ‘zen’. 🙂

Aug21_tangle practice_tile

From the sketchbook, Micron pens (08 and 03) on 240 grams paper

Today is August 22. 10 days to go!

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

