Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Your beautiful place

I’ve started adding colored pencil to the paintings, taking more time on them. Well some of them.

Jul12_square_Your beautiful place

This painting didn’t just come out of a daily painting session. It has been brewing in my mind as it were. As I was thinking about a dear art friend battling with cancer, I started to make two collages, in which I used similar imagery and symbols that have to do with her, the art she’s been making over the past year, the thoughts she shared on her blog. Shena had to travel a lot from her home on Gabriola island to the mainland, she did so many watercolors on those trips. It helped her to stay calm. These paintings looked wonderful. I’ve been following her blogposts. She also talked about it in our (closed) art group online. I’m really sad to know that she’s been getting more and more ill recently.

The process of painting my square paintings has changed over the past two weeks, as a result of following recent events. Ideas brewing, and just thinking about the places she loves, the water, the coast, nature.

This collage below is one of the two I talk about, still a work in progress. The moment I stopped working for the day, I knew it would take a lot more work to finish the collage paintings in a good way. I immediately knew it could also serve as a sketch for other pieces. Didn’t know it would come about as the small painting above did, though. Still learning every day. 🙂

Ju2_notsquare_Shena and Tony 1

Symbols in the painting include the coastal scenes in Shena’s paintings, nature (leaves) and blue for the water. The triangles are in duos. They represent Shena and Tony, her life partner. As you can see the collage served as a kind of sketch for the painting above in a loose way. I took the most important symbols into the painting.

During the week since the collages I started to feel more and more sad, but also an idea started brewing to organize a fundraiser. The idea is taking shape, if you’d like to help, please follow closely. Thanks.

2 comments on “Your beautiful place

  1. Sheila Marie Delgado
    July 19, 2016

    Beautiful works 🙂 Dreamy, calm, and hopeful. Hope your friend has a peaceful, and pain free week. Prayers.

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

