Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Drawing from Matisse

For the Art Heist class, by the lovely and inspiring Krista Peel, I did some collages, paper studies of Matisse paintings.

jun14_collagestudy Matisse grenades_Art heist

Paper study of painting by Matisse ‘Nature morte aux grenades’ of 1947 (collage of colored paper and Neocolor II crayon, on mixed media paper )

Process

I sketched, analyzed the original and learned a lot in the process of making this.

For the fun of it, here’s a page from my sketchbook with the sketch and some notes. I sketched first, then made the collage and consequently added notes on what I noticed about the painting, about its composition, how Matisse helps the eye move around the painting (in the original).

jun14_study Matisse pomegrenades 47 sketch

It was a great experience studying a piece by one of my favorite artists in this way. It’s exactly what Krista told us in the description of the class: when you do this you touch the original painting in a very sensitive way. Studying a painting by copying is a way of getting to know it better. I hadn’t realized how this method Krista showed us can both deepen the knowledge of the painting studied and help learn new skills and experience my own problem solving skills at the same time. Wow.

I made another paper study after a similar Matisse painting which I will share soon.

 

13 comments on “Drawing from Matisse

  1. Jill Kuhn
    June 23, 2016

    I really like your collage, Corinne! And seeing your sketchbook too! I didn’t take this class, it looks like it was a good one! πŸ˜„

    • corinnebekker
      June 24, 2016

      Thanks, Jill. It is a great class. I think Krista deserves to get more students. I loved her approach – and equally nice: seeing all the work, what others chose as their subject (which was free to choose within some limits some times). I haven’t done all assignments, but will definitely take them as my lead for the next few weeks or so.
      So if you’re looking for more inspiration – do take this class. πŸ™‚

      • Jill Kuhn
        June 24, 2016

        Thanks, Corinne! I hated to miss it so probably will take it sometime in the future. πŸ˜„ I’m trying not to overwhelm myself by taking too much at once. I don’t have as much time in the summer and I’m feeling behind in Carla’s Y is for Yellow class.

      • corinnebekker
        June 24, 2016

        I know what you mean. πŸ™‚
        Well it’s a nice brief course (four lessons). It’ll be there waiting for you. That’s a nice idea, isn’t it?

      • Jill Kuhn
        June 24, 2016

        Yes! 😊

  2. Sheila Marie Delgado
    June 23, 2016

    Love the peek into your sketch book., and our collage is awesome πŸ™‚ Love the repeating rounds, and the pattern work πŸ™‚

    • corinnebekker
      June 24, 2016

      Thanks Sheila. That’s so interesting about Matisse, all the pattern, the things he ‘took’ from his favorite pieces of cloth, rugs et cetera.

  3. Catherine Johnson
    June 23, 2016

    Awesome painting and insight!

  4. memadtwo
    June 23, 2016

    I did a collage based on that painting too, although I took more liberties…
    https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2014/06/03/still-life/

    • corinnebekker
      June 24, 2016

      Hi Kerfe, thanks for sharing your interpretation of the same painting. Fun play with shapes and color!
      And nice to see you had a similar experience – that copying helps to look at balance and color.

      • memadtwo
        June 24, 2016

        It’s a great painting to work with…as is Matisse in general. I’m enjoying your art journey!

      • corinnebekker
        June 24, 2016

        Thanks for walking along the path with me for a while.

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❀

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

