Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Love of mountains

May22_abstract#1

Abstract 1, May 22, acrylic on watercolor paper

It is starting to look like I am doing an abstract series this month (apart from the watercolor work of course). I rather liked some I made earlier this month (May 15 and 16) where I started with a layer of white and copper acrylics. The light piece I did on May 16  started with a background  in white and copper. After it was finished, I thought it would be fun to start more pieces in a similar way, thereby tying them together in a series. So that’s how the one above started. In this piece the second layer covers most of the first, but you can still see the copper pop out here and there.

I tried to make some non representational pieces. As always that works better in some, like the first one here (above), than in others. On a second viewing – after I turned the piece 90 degrees- I saw a mountain animal in it after all … haha. I like this orientation better, so here I am with a mountain piece after all. Can you see it?

So I call it ‘Love of mountains, number1’.

May22_abstract#1

Love of mountains #1, acrylic paint on WC paper

The second piece moved in the direction of mountains and I accepted it and even enhanced the mountain idea.

May22_abstract#2

Love of mountains #2, acrylic paint on watercolor paper

May 22, #265/365

When I numbered these I realized there’s now only 100 days to go – woohoo – to the finish of a year of daily creating! (Some days later, I figured out I have been counting wrongly – it’s a leap year, so I will have done 366 days in total if I make it to September 1st).

Process notes

I’ve been thinking about the fact that I’m almost at the three quarter point in this year. And for a while it’s been really hard. “I should be celebrating”, I thought. But I didn’t feel like that at all. I was wrestling with the inner critic. I doubted whether the period I was ill even counted for the year of daily creating. Another reason for wrestling is my health. I knew I had to change my daily habits – when I was ill they found out I have a high blood pressure. I received treatment and medication helps, but it is wise to exercise more, change eating habits if I want to stay healthy. Not an easy thing to do. I know exercise is easiest to do when I do it first thing in the day – like I did with the daily art for quite while.  That means I need to shift the art thing to a different part of the day. That really scared me for a while. But in the end I decided to just try. I end up doing the art by the end of the day often. That makes it harder sometimes. Sometimes it’s already ten o’clock and I remember – ‘I still have to do my daily art’. Sitting down to do it takes a bit of stamina. But I don’t want the year to end yet. So I do it, even though energy is low, or the light is bad. By now, I’m beyond the wrestling and think: it will be interesting to see how this affects the results and the process. It’s OK. After all the motto still holds: there’s always another day!

As we’re nearing the end of May, I will have to make the choice whether to choose a theme again, or not.  As this month I made a lot of abstracts, I may just strike that from my list. Two days to ponder it. We’ll see.

 

8 comments on “Love of mountains

  1. Moon in Capricorn
    May 30, 2016

    Very nice and colorful. I think I prefer the softer lines of the first over the angular lines of the second, but they do fit together nicely as a pair.

    • corinnebekker
      June 3, 2016

      Thanks Judith for stopping by and giving you thoughtful comment. I’m usually a soft and fluid lines person too. But it’s great to move out of my comfort zone once in a while.

      • Judith
        June 3, 2016

        That’s part of art, isn’t it? Trying new things, exploring beyond our usual ways…discovering possibilities.

      • corinnebekker
        June 4, 2016

        Indeed!

  2. Catherine Johnson
    May 30, 2016

    Lovely paintings! I’m new at balancing fitness in too. It will be worth it though. Good luck!

    • corinnebekker
      June 3, 2016

      Thank you Catherine. We will do it – balance is a good word too. It will be worth it, indeed. Thanks and good luck to you too.

  3. Sheila Marie Delgado
    May 30, 2016

    Love these and curious what your new theme, or non theme will be 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      June 3, 2016

      Well it’s out – and I will probably struggle with it all over again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

