Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Cats and the art lab

Artists who have cats will probably think about how cats have a habit of trying to help you in your studio, sitting on your paper just when you want to start drawing, or walking across fresh paint. I hear a lot of these stories, and sometimes I see the results. 🙂

Unfortunately I’m allergic to cats – I love them, but they make me sneeze. When I’ve taking my allergy medicine (like during hay fever season), I can be free with them. But it is the reason I will probably never have a cat as a pet. So I have to go visit friends with cats to be able to study them live. Or use photo references.

May16_cat sketch #3

Pen on printer paper, May 16 #259/365 (extra work)

During the second week of Big Juicy Watercolor course we are doing experiments trying to paint the fluffy fur of animals. Fred took the cat as an example. I used photo references to first draw a few cats (some just quickly getting to know the shapes, others loosing myself in drawing hairs and whiskers, see below.) .

After some drawing practice we were supposed to try painting the cat, using the wet into wet technique first (adding some details later). Here’s my first experimental page on half sheet of watercolor paper (35 x 55 cm) done on May 18 (day #261/365).

May18_cat experiment#1

Some experiments are more successful than others. And of course, they should be like that, otherwise why have experiments? The bottom left cat I painted along with Fred watching the lesson and it looks a bit younger than his painting, or the reference photo. 🙂

I rather liked a photo of a cat stretching out one paw, so I tried that one twice. As the paw looks a bit foreshortened, that makes it quite hard to get it right. In the photo the cat looks asleep. In the painting top right, the cat seems awake but on the left it seems to snooze (at least to my eyes) . I haven’t figured out why that is, yet. Could it be because of the colors of the background? Is it an effect of pink that you feel more active? I would love to hear your thoughts on the matter.

(May 16 and May 18, respectively; or day #259 (extra work) and #261 out of 365 days)

2 comments on “Cats and the art lab

  1. Catherine Johnson
    May 26, 2016

    Love them!

  2. Sheila Marie Delgado
    May 28, 2016

    LOVE! Maybe it is the color, or maybe the softness of the fur. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

