Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Abstracts in oil

Since Early April I can use a studio – I’m sharing with two other ladies. At first it was a bit daunting, so I started out doing work I know, small studies and gelli printing. But I wanted a studio to be able to paint BIG: a lot bigger than is practical in my home. So you can imagine I am totally happy now.

In the studio I am working on some abstracts on canvas. I’m experimenting with oil paint, trying different styles. For one, I’m trying out painting after a sketch. Here’s two examples of work in progress on 50 x 50 cm canvases. This was actually done on May 6, when I did a series of 15 sketches in the studio – ! – then picked one to paint (see the little square painting in the photo). So this was EXTRA work on day #249. May6_abstract two WIPs

I had a wonderful day in the studio, because the paintings above were only one project I worked on. I also started an experiment, trying to paint a painting inspired by Mark Rothko,  a kind of color field painting. My idea was to try layering paints on, layer after layer after layer.

Here’s how I started with a dark outer edge and two squares one to develop in red tones, one started with blue. A few days later I added another layer on both squares. This is going to be a long term project. This painting is on a canvas of 70 x 100 cm.

May10_ Rothkoesk abstract_wip May14_rothkoesk painting wip3

(May 7, day 250 of the year, I drew an abstract in pastels. I must still  make a scan, which I keep till a separate post.Then I painted some imaginary creatures for a few days, also for a later post.)

A few days later, on May 11 (#254/365), I went into the studio and continued on one of the smaller paintings above, hoping to push it further. I wanted it to be truly non representational. It felt like a spirit among the trees, so I added a shape and didn’t like it either and got rid of it again. After that it needed to dry.

Both projects to be continued.

 

 

 

2 comments on “Abstracts in oil

  1. Jill Kuhn
    May 18, 2016

    Good for you to paint big! Fun to see your progress, Corinne. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

