Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Simple abstract collage

I have many textured painted papers since I made so many monoprints on the gelli plate at the end of April. The colors are reasonably coordinated, so plenty of opportunity to make collages. I will be trying several things with them throughout this month.

It’s nice to try out different options in collage. For instance the difference between ripped and cut edges, or small pieces and large pieces. I made two collages the day I printed (April 29). They were made in a rather intuitive way. As there are so many prints/papers I can start experimenting with collage.

The other day (May 3rd, #246/365)  I made a collage with only pieces that were cut in rectangles. I wanted to take my time fitting pieces together, so I used an A4 size paper as substrate.

May3_abstract collage

I like the different textures, having the light and dark on some papers while others are more even in value. Still, I feel it could do with a bit more adventure. I may try a new one and add the adventure (taking a lot more time adding paint and stenciling, or ink drips. Not sure. I will keep this one as is, to show the progress through the experiments.

I also started a large collage with long strips, with rough torn edges and glued them rather haphazardly together. In the sense of the process and how the ‘edges’ look, it was the exact opposite of the one above. After making it, I felt it could do with a lot of tweaks. But similar to the one above, I’ll allow myself to be led by the motto “there’s always another day”. In this case: there’s always another day, for a better collage. So for now no tweaking, but I may try out other things on collages started fresh.

Both of them are quite dark. I rather like these warm dark colors. What do you think?

5 comments on “Simple abstract collage

  1. memadtwo
    May 9, 2016

    I like it. (K)

  2. memadtwo
    May 9, 2016

    Me too. Very peaceful combination of color and shape. N.

  3. Jill Kuhn
    May 9, 2016

    This is so FUN! I have experimented some with my Gelli-printed papers in collage. I like your colors and patterns here, Corinne! 🎨👍 It makes me want to make a collage! 😍

  4. Sheila Marie Delgado
    May 10, 2016

    I like how there seems to be order in the chaos. Love the curves mixed in and the textures throughout 🙂 Have fun with the others 🙂

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

