Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Abstract sketches in color

I will be making abstract pieces for several days at least. I’ve cut hot press watercolor paper in a standard size to make these colored abstracts. I have two reasons to do these: (1) to make abstracts for their own sake, enjoy the making and see what comes; (2) to make sketches that will help me paint abstract paintings on a larger canvas.

May 2 abstract sketches, #245/365.  I started by just making marks in watercolor on four of these paper, to  create a space I could work on in more detail. I started four. And ended up with two I like. I could push the other two further, but I figured that time was up. I didn’t have a clear plan how many I would finish beforehand.I don’t know if I’ll take the same approach every day. We’ll see.

May2_abstract #1

Colored abstract #245.1 watercolor, Inktense pencils and oil pastel on watercolor paper

May2_abstract #2 WIP

Colored abstract #245.1 watercolor, Inktense pencils and oil pastel on watercolor paper

By the way, I remember doing this kind of thing – working on sketches on small papers – before, from a class in abstraction. I produced pieces that were very different. It will be interesting to see how this practice of making abstract sketches will work when I go on for several days – will the work be similar over time, or different?

 

2 comments on “Abstract sketches in color

  1. Sheila Marie Delgado
    May 7, 2016

    Love the depth in the first, and the tropical feel of the second 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      May 8, 2016

      Thanks Sheila. It’s nice to hear what they ‘tell’ you.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 7, 2016 by in My work.
Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

