Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

March (1): Big bold flower paintings

As I said earlier in my post announcing the theme for April, I will show some of the art work from March in a different way from before. Before I tried to give you an overview of the whole month at the end of each month, or at the start of the next. At the beginning of April I just couldn’t – as I was still recuperating from the illness that started halfway March. So I will simply do it in pieces – and cut the month into parts – parts that seem to belong together if possible. For the first post I will simply start at the beginning: painting big bold blooms.

At the start of March I was hoping to work on large paintings as I enrolled for the Big Bold Blooms class by Lynn Whipple. The class was amazing. We started out doing pastel drawings, then moved to large canvases and just began filling the canvas with color. I felt really inspired. I got off on a real good start and had three paintings going.

I bought a special bouquet at a nearby florist who took it upon himself to gather some special flowers that would look nice. I tended that bouquet like it was a baby. I took a quick snapshot when I had just bought it. I didn’t have time to clear the table , just shot it. Haha. The bird of paradise flower was taking pride of place, but I knew the Amaryllis was going to be great too.

Mar5_bouquet

On days when I couldn’t paint on the large paintings I drew flowers, to keep the idea of painting flowers active in my mind. Some days only a small drawing, like this quickΒ  one on black paper.

Mar3_flowers on black

Most important was getting on with the canvases of course. I got really far with two of them.

Mar11_white flower painting_layer6

Big Bold bloom painting (WIP), 60 x 80 cm, acrylic paint and pastel on canvas.

I also like this one, also still in progress:

Mar10_orange dark

I came so close… and then mid March I suddenly fell ill and had to leave the paintings at this stage. Such a pity. The effect of a virus probably, half of my face was paralyzed – it all happened late at night, and my face started to loose feeling on the left side from my brow to my mouth, including my tongue, almost within an hour. It was a very scary thing of course. Ugh! I went to hospital, they diagnosed it as Bell’s palsy (not something in the brain – fortunately!) and said there was treatment for it. Fortunately most people who suffer from this heal completely within a few weeks, I was told. And I did, in the end! But at first I wasn’t sure of course. And I had to take medication with side-effects that were not very nice. I couldn’t eat, drink, speak well. And I couldn’t see well for at least three weeks. I couldn’t close my eyes properly and was told to use fake tears – to keep the eye wet and make sure the eye would not be damaged too. I’m glad I took that advice seriously, took the drops and ointment for my eyes and by now, almost four weeks later my eyes are fine again.

To keep myself happy I decided to keep making art for the rest of the month, just allow myself to have fun with whatever material I could use in an instant. Because at first I couldn’t see for much longer than 5 to 10 minutes at a time.Β  I will show some of it on another day.

Here’s just a detail from the first painting:

Mar11detailamaryllis

I love how the Amaryllis opened up.

8 comments on “March (1): Big bold flower paintings

  1. Sheila Marie Delgado
    April 16, 2016

    So glad to hear that you are doing better. I have a friend who had Bell’s palsy. These are all quite wonderful! I love the looseness and bright bold colors πŸ™‚ Lookinf forward to seeing more, take care πŸ™‚

    • corinnebekker
      April 18, 2016

      Thanks so much for your continued support, Sheila. Please know it
      is much appreciated!

  2. Jill Kuhn
    April 18, 2016

    Hi Corinne! I liked your idea of drawing flowers on black paper to keep the shapes fresh in your mind. I was just thinking today how much I used to enjoy drawing feathers with color pencils on black paper – need to get back to it. 😊 Happy to hear you are feeling better. πŸ‘πŸ’•

    • corinnebekker
      April 18, 2016

      Yes I remember you did that too. It was lovely and inspired me too.
      And yes, I’m glad too for getting better and better. Thanks!

  3. Rose
    April 20, 2016

    GORGEOUS!!!!

  4. Mama Cormier
    April 24, 2016

    I just came back and reread your post. I’m glad you’re feeling better and healed up relatively quickly. My husband suffered from the same ailment and his face returned to normal after a few weeks. It was almost a blessing in disguise because we discovered at the hospital that he was suffering from something much more serious. That was over 5 years ago and he’s been in remission for almost 4 years. I’m impressed with the amount of work you’ve been able to complete despite your discomfort. I wanted to take the big bold floral class but I had already over extended myself with 3 on going classes. I can hardly keep up with the assignments for Y is for Yellow classes.

    • corinnebekker
      April 24, 2016

      Hi Carol, thanks for your comment. I know – a blessing in disguise – for me too. Glad for you that your husband is fine now. We found out something else too – high blood pressure -and I we’re working on that too.
      I was happy I could do tiny pieces of art work during the bad times. The flower paintings were from just before. I hope to get back to them some time soon.
      I know about over-committing as far as courses go. You will get your chance some other time. Lynn will teach a new course in September! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❀

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

