Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Girls, gals and some guys

Sometimes I love an assignment so much I keep doing them. We get a lot of drawing assignments as part of the “Y is for Yellow” class hosted by Carla Sonheim. A lesson  every fortnight, organized by the letters of the alphabet. For the G lesson – we’re drawing ‘gaggles of girls’. Small sets of drawings from reference photos. The idea was to try starting with the head and hair first  – and start with the eyes. I find I can’t draw a proper face starting with the eyes. So after doing that once, I stuck with drawing the head shape first. I tried different sources (online, magazines) and different approaches – more stylized or less. Here’s one of the first. Some girls look better than others. I  love how these are more stylized.

Apr4_ gaggle of girls 1

Another one.

Apr4_ gaggle of girls 2

I can’t just draw females. Here’s a set with males and females.

Apr6_ faces5

These were almost all glamour girls. I lost track of time and made them a lot more detailed.

Apr8_gaggle of girls 6

Can you tell I start at the top right, work from right to left- and ended at the bottom left? Something I started doing to not smudge too much. I draw with my left hand, that’s why.

I’m allowing myself to diverge from my theme.  Did you notice?

9 comments on “Girls, gals and some guys

  1. Wonderful portraits! Such a wonderful collection of expressions. Really nice! As for the theme, you could have titled this “The people of Spring” hehe… and then it works! Diverge away… and hope you’re feeling much better now my friend. 💕

  2. Jill Kuhn
    April 12, 2016

    Enjoyed seeing “your” faces, Corinne! Hope it means you are feeling better!

    • corinnebekker
      April 12, 2016

      Hi Jill. Yes much better, thanks. I’m slowly picking up matters again, but taking it easy for a bit, step by step.

  3. Sheila Marie Delgado
    April 12, 2016

    wow, fabulous work… I need to get back to my practice, need lot’s more before I am this good 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      April 13, 2016

      Thanks Sheila for your kind comment. It is good indeed to keep practicing. And I’m not showing you my worst. Doing the daily work is really helping me. ❤

  4. Rose
    April 20, 2016

    Lovely Faces!!!!

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

