Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

March: More Dreams of Daisies

New theme for March: Dreams and Daisies

I’ve been thinking about a new theme for the new month and at first I had a hard time. Not because I can’t think of themes. There’s still a few nice ones on my list. But as it is right now – I’m taking several classes and  it doesn’t seem to fit one theme – I want to be able to do all that and share when I like.

For one thing, I am still in Jane Davenports Wonderland class and want to work on that next month when it calls me. I also recently enrolled for Diane Culhane class about trees – which ran last week. I still have a painting or two to finish. Like the one below…

Feb23_Treelayer2

Tree painting, WIP, two layers of paint, 50 x 50 cm, Feb 23 / day 176

After two months of doing a lot of watercolor, I moved to using acrylic paint again! And not just for the trees….

For quite a while I’ve had this dream of painting really large canvases. And I will! I enrolled in a class that is about just that: “Big Bold Bloom Wild Painting” with Lynn Whipple. It started soon after Dianes class ; a bit too soon for my liking, but since I really wanted to paint big, I joined anyway. I will be moving between flower and tree paintings probably. Apart from that I have a few other lessons to catch up on. So don’t make me stick to just flowers and trees. I could end up doing some doodling and master copy drawings and more.

Well, as far as time is concerned, it’s quite clear that something will have to wait, I won’t be able to do it all right now, all at once. But I really want to do the homework for the Bloom class and do whatever else calls me in between.

So in March I follow the lessons and I follow the dream:

  • Big and Bold Paintings, mostly of Blooms, painted in acrylic and chalk pastels

And whatever may call me:

  • Alice, the March Hare, The Mad Hatter, or the Cheshire Cat; or illustrations from other lovely books;
  • Trees; paintings, collages, drawings;
  • Floral paintings; in acrylic inks or watercolor
  • Animals
  • Perhaps even Faces or abstracts.

Some results of February

Here’s some results I had not shared before, like these mini collages and paintings of trees:

Feb23_lovetrees #3

Little collages of trees, Feb 23 / day extra work

 

Feb23_treevignettes2

Vignettes of trees, Feb 23 extra work

A collage of results of February

February art collage

February 2016 collage: a bit of this and a bit of that…

Wonderland best Collage

Wonderland Watercolor Collage

Tree Collage 3

Some tree pieces of February, inspired by Diane Culhanes class

Numbers on February

I haven’t kept track from day to day what kind of pieces. I will try to add up quickly now. Some days I did watercolors in the morning, and painted trees at night. It looks like I made more pieces than there were days in the month:

  • at least 10 watercolors for Wonderland class, painting Card Guards (at least four), several Alices (at least 8 Alices in 5 paintings) and a Cheshire cat;
  • three paintings in watercolor: the sleeping bear, an owl and a page of potted plants;
  • two drawings made after Tenniel illustrations (two);
  • several blind contour drawings (at least three pages);
  • a mixed media piece with blind contours added on top;
  • several drawings of Dali (at least twelve), with doodles added later (six);
  • little tree collages (eight); and little practice paintings of trees (four);
  • I started two tree paintings on cradled wood surfaces and one on paper, and three big bloom paintings.

That makes 43 finished pieces. Most of these 43 pieces were small. The maximum was slightly larger than A4 size: 21 x 29.7 cm; but most were a lot smaller. All except the two unfinished tree paintings (both 50x50cm) and the Bloom paintings. Next month I will probably not finish as many paintings when I proceed to do bigger paintings.  I’m really looking forward to that.

Daily creating in March

Do I need to lay down any rules for March? Well, just do creative work every day for at least 30 minutes. If only to move one painting further. I also need to frame a few things from last month and will count it if it implies matte cutting for making passe partouts.

I’ll be happy if I finish at least 6 larger paintings; that is including the trees. But I hope to make more!

I may end up with dreams of daisies, elephants and geese and lots of other florals and animals too.

PS Painting big will get me through my paints real quickly. So I will probably be looking for new supplies soon. Lynn suggested we try using ‘house paint’. I should ask around if people have leftover paints in their sheds. 🙂

 

 

4 comments on “March: More Dreams of Daisies

  1. bethrommel
    March 1, 2016

    This is a terrific post. I love seeing all of the work you are creating. Woohoo!!!!

  2. Catherine Johnson
    March 1, 2016

    I really love the tree! How exciting do the paint big course. Let us know how it goes. That’s a lot of paintings.

  3. Sheila Marie Delgado
    March 1, 2016

    Congratulations on such a productive, interesting, gorgeous month! Your collage trees are so cool! How fun! Happy March to you!

  4. kathiwerner
    March 1, 2016

    It is nice to look back on one months achievemnts, isn’t it? And your trees are awesome.

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

