Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Copying from a master

Copying from Sir John Tenniel, studying his drawing from Alice in Wonderland. For fun I put it on one of the colored pages that I’d prepared earlier.

Feb15_Alice and flying cards

Copying Tenniel, Sakura Micron pen on watercolor, feb 15 / day 168

One of the colored pages had a nice spot of light in the center which seemed to fit where the center of attention lies in this illustration: Alice holding up her arms in alarm, as though she’s holding off the cards. It is a scene near the end of the story, where Alice is in the court where an animal is about to get sentenced. The feeling of the scene is similar to earlier ones with the Queen who constantly is calling out to cut of the heads of characters. It’s unfair, no one knows what to expect, it’s frightening. In this scene there is a sense of things might turn badly for the little animal as well. Alice is looking on and starts to grow into her own shape and gets bigger and bigger. As a result she is no longer so afraid of the grumpy queen and the judge (the king). She speaks up against the court. The cards go flying and animals start running away in every direction.

Before I started I thought I’d just do part of the drawing, see if I could pull it off drawing Alice freehand and make it look anything like the original.  (If I’d planned drawing the complete illustration I might have measured placement on the page a little better. Now I just had to adjust some of it to fit the page.) Drawing her seemed to work quite well, but when I’d almost finished the Alice figure without surroundings, it didn’t seem to make sense. Not without the flying cards. And when doing the cards, and I was looking well at the whole picture, I realized there were all these running animals and they were needed to supply the feeling of alarm that’s also in the scene in the book.

It was hard to keep my focus and go on even when I ran up against the limitations of my tools (a really fine tipped pen which didn’t make it easy to copy the bolder hatching and pen strokes in the original). But still I am quite happy with this one.

Process of daily creating

Given job and home duties I feel it’s better to stop posting daily. I am also looking for studio space (so exciting!) and need to take care of publicity for the course I’m preparing. Loads to do. And also I am hoping to come up with a new rhythm for posting by March 1st. I just need to work out plans. So don’t be alarmed if there’s no posts for a few days.

Like the French say: ‘reculer pour mieux sauter’ – or: taking a few steps back to make a better jump!

See you!

14 comments on “Copying from a master

  1. Catherine Johnson
    February 17, 2016

    Awesome!

  2. memadtwo
    February 17, 2016

    I knew it was Alice right away. Great and original work! N.

  3. kathiwerner
    February 17, 2016

    Goes lovely with that colored background. Great you did the cards, animals and suroundings aswell.

  4. Edith Schmidt Art
    February 18, 2016

    I know what you mean about posting and time allotments. White Rabbit comes to mind. Love your work!! Good post!

    • corinnebekker
      February 18, 2016

      Thank you Edith for your kind comments. Yes the rabbit seems a good idea.

  5. grlie
    February 21, 2016

    Love all the animals! Such a detailed drawing!

  6. Jill Kuhn
    February 21, 2016

    Wonderful Corinne! Such great details in your drawing and the background is perfect! Good idea not to post daily – I’m heading in that direction myself. Exciting news that you are getting a studio! YAY for you! 😄🎨👍

  7. planetmetalhead
    February 25, 2016

    Love Tenniel, I have a few of his prints hanging right next to me for inspiration. I like your results!

    • corinnebekker
      February 26, 2016

      Thanks so much, planetmetalhead. I should hang up some art too. I tend to forget that. Thanks for reminding me.

      • planetmetalhead
        March 8, 2016

        Of course, I recently attended a local art gallery. Surprisingly it was very inspiring for me. I thought maybe I would be discouraged, but it was a great environment and I met a lot of good artists. Highly recommended !

      • corinnebekker
        March 8, 2016

        Good for you that you went.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2016 by in My work.
Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

