Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Copying and color, color, color!

Studying how the masters work. That’s really interesting. I was looking at some of the original illustrations for the original published Alice in Wonderland by Sir John Tenniel. Tenniel made the wonderful black and white illustrations. Making a copy made me aware of how he used line, how he produced shades by hatching.

By studying the drawing in detail by copying, you learn a great deal. How the composition works. It’s cool how you can follow the line of Alice’s eyes and see the bottle (with fluid that makes her shrink later on) and the little key  on the table. Perhaps you can even see her hesitate.

I also became more aware how the dress stands out from her body. I need to study that kind of dress – what makes it stand out like that? And what does Alice keep in her little apron pocket….?

Below is my copy (done Feb 13, day 166 out of 365).  Apologies to the illustrator for any mistakes that crept in (like the slightly receded hairline). What shall I do with it? I think I’ll leave it like this. Just the copy. Just for the learning experience. No more, no less.

Feb13_Alice-copycat_Drink me

My copy from the original illustration in Alice in Wonderland, by Sir John Tenniel.

I did this while waiting for some colorful pages to dry. They are meant to be backgrounds for new drawings. Who knows what will show up on them in the week to come? Here’s an example.

A Year of Daily Creating _updates

My year of daily creating started September 1st 2015. If you’re new to my Year of Daily Creating – do check out the dedicated page. I just updated it. You can find results from earlier months there.

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

