Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Drawing practice

I’ve also been drawing again lately, reminded by some lessons from the “Y is for Yellow” class by Carla Sonheim. Just for practice. I rather like the results.

Blind contour drawings of February 7. Day 160 of the 365.

Looking up different horse types I learned a little bit about how different they look. How some have relatively small heads. Some are quite dainty and others heavily built. And some horses are bred to have weirdly long hair.

As I am only looking at the reference and not my paper, it’s always a surprise how the drawing ends up. It makes me laugh getting a stray eye above a horse. Adding some values helps to make them look better, at least on some of these.

Feb7_Blind contours plus

Ballpoint pen and Neocolor II crayons

Practicing looking well by drawing with the ‘wrong hand’ (which for me is my right hand).

Feb7 _Wronghanded drawing horses #1

Ballpoint pen and marker in sketchbook.

 

One drawing below was done with my left hand and the other with the right hand.

Feb7_Right and left handed_horses

Ballpoint pen and colored marker in sketchbook

Don’t you love the long wavy hair and strong body of the Friesian horses ?

Source: a reference photo of Friesian horse

PS For my Dutch friends. I will be teaching live soon. For one, I will be teaching a live workshop on March 16, sharing what I learned over the past year about drawing and dipping into imagination. Interested? Check the Events page.

4 comments on “Drawing practice

  1. Jill Kuhn
    February 10, 2016

    Beautiful horses, Corinne! Good idea to try some of Carla’s recent lessons on this subject! The shading makes such a difference to me. Bravo! 😄

  2. grlie
    February 11, 2016

    These are just great!

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

