Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Card guard

Feb4_Card guard #2

Art work done for Jane Davenports “Wonderland” class. The idea is to make color blobs and add faces, legs, arms and such to turn them into alternative ‘Card Guards’ .

Think: the absurdly harsh Queen of Alice in Wonderland  and her helpers, the Card Guards. Yes?

I am taking this assignment as quick practice paintings – that’s what they are supposed to be anyway (as far as I know). I’m just making all kinds of marks, sometimes like in the imaginary creatures series and trying out all sorts of things. The banner is inspired by Janes examples.

As the marks looked like fluffy material, I added darker fluffiness, I you get what I mean.

#janedavenportworkshops

On Alice in Wonderland

I am rereading Alice in Wonderland and finding out new things. Everyone is playing a silly kind of croquet. Alice is getting stressed a bit, as the queen is constantly watching everyone and calling out: “Off with his head!” and “Off with her head”. Someone (the King?) remarks in passing to Alice that the Queen is rather insecure. Don’t worry, he says. And when the Queen doesn’t look, he tells the guards to let everyone go who was sentenced to death. Suddenly I think of birthday parties that were fun but also stressful for me (was everyone having fun?) and getting all irritated. There’s a moral here. Lovely.

5 comments on “Card guard

  1. kathiwerner
    February 7, 2016

    Nice card guard. ANd impressing how many classes you are actively following!

    • corinnebekker
      February 9, 2016

      Thanks Kathrin.
      Actually – I am not always succeeding in following my classes. Some things I skip because of other plans – or because life happens. But as daily creating is my guide, I know better when to skip / leave for later / et cetera.

  2. Jill Kuhn
    February 7, 2016

    I like how you painted her face! This is wonderful, Corinne. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

