Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Imperfect girl

Moving into a new theme and into new techniques – especially since I enrolled in Jane Davenports class. You will start seeing other kinds of art work than in January.

For now I am moving between the imaginary creatures techniques and new ones. In my stash of papers with random watercolor marks, from doing the imaginary creatures, was this wonderful paper filled with random watercolor marks and gesso blobs on top… and I saw the start of a face.

feb3_imperfect girl

Watercolor, gesso and pencils on heavy paper (PVG Multipaper), A4 size (21 x 29.7 cm)

On the day I made this, I decided that I would paint quick again and just see where I would end up in 30 minutes.

I call her ‘Imperfect girl’ because that’s what she is. Given the limited time to paint I started thinking of the idea of letting go of expectations, of working against perfection-itis. No way will it be perfect in 30 minutes. Also, the gloppy gesso marks and background marks will lead to interesting but imperfect results.

When I named her, I immediately thought of a friend of mine who has made it her practice to paint ‘imperfect girls’. This helped her to has become really good at painting girl’s faces. So good that I even bought one of her girls last week.

*Waving at her. Hi Petra!*

Do check her out online: Petra Stein!

I love how the quick painting ended up. I love how the random marks show through, how the paint bloomed, the gesso blobs that are very thick on the shirt and across the face. I even love her ‘bed hair’ standing on end a bit. 🙂

Of course there are lessons to take from this. If ever I take more time for a painting, I would push back the hair, pick up some of the black lines in the hair (if it is watercolor) or paint over a little more (I think it was a Stabilo marks all pencil – so some of the black lines will be permanent by now).

6 comments on “Imperfect girl

  1. memadtwo
    February 6, 2016

    Do you know the work of Marlene Dumas, Models and Rejects? Imperfect Girl would fit right in! (K)

    • corinnebekker
      February 6, 2016

      Thanks K. I heard of her, but not of the Models and Rejects. I will look it up. Thanks so much for that!

      • memadtwo
        February 8, 2016

        I’m enjoying all your explorations. I like that you give a sense of your process too.

  2. Sheila Marie Delgado
    February 6, 2016

    Awesome 🙂

  3. Rose
    April 20, 2016

    I took a class from Petra Stein in the Lets Face It Class 2016! When I read ‘Imperfect Girl” that is who I thought of, LOL!
    I started my own blog about my drawing faces/art journey….gypseroseart@wordpress.com. I think you are following my ‘main’ blog the pioneersofpanama.wordpress.com still. Glad to see you are still at it!!!!

    • corinnebekker
      April 20, 2016

      Hi Rose, Glad you liked Petras class so much. I know her and love her girls too. I’ll ckeck out your new blog soon.

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

