Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Sleepy head

Feb1_Sleepy head

Sleepy head, watercolor and black pen on Fabriano watercolor paper. 17.5 x 27 cm.

 

Painting ‘Sleepy head’

For today’s painting I started on the basis of a random blob background like before. I saw the arms or paws, started to draw and it turned into a bear, seemingly sleeping at a table. I decided to paint quick and use waterbrushes to pick up paint straight from my watercolor set (Cotman small sketchbox with 12 half pans) which leads to having thicker paint on the brush from the start.

I decided to draw first and then give myself a maximum of 30 minutes to paint, paint quick, see what happens. Work wet-into-wet and try and solve problems as I go. I notice things I forgot (the chair lost it’s 3D element while painting) and let go. I decided to paint almost the whole surface, leaving only a bit of white on the cup. I notice, I learn. On to the next day!

Sleepy head , what is the story?

This image reminds me of fairy tales, like Goldilocks. Or is it just a bear with a cup of tea? Is the bear tired after a long day? Or did he have to get up early in the morning – to be together with someone who has to leave early – and then has a little nap before starting the day? What if the tea was sleepy time tea? What if it’s evening and the bear is really tired and should go to bed. Just needs a little drink, and stays up a little longer as he doesn’t want to go to bed yet.

Process notes – on daily creating

Life is a bit unpredictable at times. And it is for me at the moment. I am doing daily art, daily creating. That’s no problem. I am just taking a short break from regular posting.

I wondered for a bit about the not-painting-days (because of illness) in January, should I try and catch up, but I decided I’d better just go on and see what this month brings. Most days of January I did do some art,if not painting I made some drawings mostly. In the end I decided that making a fuss about those two or three days on which I may have let it go, doesn’t make sense.  Catching up on missed painting days (because of being ill), is less important than having some rest, taking care of my family and so on.

A new theme?

I just went right on into the new month. Looking for stories and magic. I have a vague notion of a new theme, I have not completely figured it out straight away, but it’ll come.  That’s a subject for another day. 🙂

 

 

5 comments on “Sleepy head

  1. Sheila Marie Delgado
    February 4, 2016

    So lovely these colors, the mixed greens along the top, and the golden browns are so rich and… huggable 🙂

  2. grlie
    February 4, 2016

    Love the bear. He is so vulnerable…

  3. kathiwerner
    February 5, 2016

    Cute sleepy bear. Good to see you back…

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

