Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Not So Still Life #1 and #2

Not so still life #2

Jan 9_10 Spark L24 #1

Not so still life #1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s two collage pieces  from the final lesson of the Year of the Spark*. They are also called ‘Not So Still Life’, a phrase coined by Lynn Whipple. Lynn taught the final lesson. And what an amazingly rich lesson it was.

This was a wonderful exercise working with color and composition. I bought three totally different flowers plus a bunch of white roses. I collected bottles and vases and a candle holder from my home and made a still life. Like Lynn suggested, I started drawing what I saw but soon also looked at it from different angles and changed some of the scene while drawing. For instance I adjusted shapes. I altered the –  in reality much taller – flowers to fit the paper size. And changed color if it seemed to work better in the composition. It’s my art piece, isn’t it? It took quite a lot of work from start to finish, but I’m really glad I took that time.

So a not so still life – and not completely true to nature – but totally inspired by it.

By the way, they are a brief step away from the animal paintings. The animals are back from tomorrow.

* And what an amazing year it’s been, the Year of the Spark. Carla Sonheim and Lynn Whipple created such wonderful sparkly lessons to enjoy, to have fun creating and learn quite a few techniques on the way – and also created the surroundings for a fine community to develop. Wow. I can’t tell you how much that has inspired me: to make a lot of art, to keep ‘moving my hands’ (thanks Lynn), to keep trying new things in art, to exhibit my work, teach, and to expand my blog and website. Thanks to both Carla Sonheim en Lynn Whipple for creating that year. And thanks to all Sparkers who were such an amazing inspiring and encouraging bunch. 

Want a similar experience of working for a year in an inspiring community and have wonderful art lessons? Spark is closed now – it’s time for the new year long class “Y is for Yellow”. Carla is teaching it – but there will be some guest teachers too. (It’s still a mystery who they are!)

For me there’s also some other inspiring classes , such as the wonderful class by Alena Hennessy – A Year of Painting – and the year long immersion in mixed media called “Life Book 2016”, hosted by Tamara Laporte, with a lesson each week from a line-up of 20 different teachers. More about that some other time.

5 comments on “Not So Still Life #1 and #2

  1. YvonneB
    January 14, 2016

    These are gorgeous Corinne! Year of the Spark 2015 was so much fun wasn’t it – I learned so much with Lynne and Carla 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      January 14, 2016

      Thanks Yvonne. How nice of you to drop by. We learned a lot and had a lot of fun.

  2. planetmetalhead
    January 14, 2016

    I really like this style, something I would like to try some day. The problem is that I have so many things I want to try and not enough time in the day! Thank you for sharing this.

    • corinnebekker
      January 14, 2016

      Thanks. Ha, I know. So much to try. Just do what feels right – and what you can afford.

  3. Sheila Marie Delgado
    January 28, 2016

    These are so pretty! And I love the idea of changing the scene as you go. Fun!

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

