Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Sara and Elli

 

Jan10_Shawna and Elli_IC10_crop

Watercolor, gesso and pen on watercolor paper. 15 x 21 cm

 

Sara doesn’t feel so well. She missed some sleep it seems. The dark under her eyes really surprises Elli. ‘What happened to you?’ ‘Oh, don’t worry, Elli, it’s just that I didn’t put on my make up today. I look like this on many days. I am just not a very good sleeper.’

Number ten in a series of imaginary animals. I loved working on this piece, working in many steps. I used several layers of gesso on the sheep and one the background. Finished on Jan 9, day 131.

Process notes : I started the series to find out if by doing at least ten I find out new things, detect something that might be called ‘my style’ or ‘my voice’. Now there’s a series of ten I see several things emerging, not really one style yet. It feels like I have to do at least 20 or 30 to get into my own rhythm and recognize whether there is ‘a style of my own’ in these.

For one, I still feel I owe a great deal to Carla Sonheims course: her examples and the media she used. But I am starting to want to add other media and see what happens next (and then I’d know they’re more my own). I do start to feel more at ease with the technique and I see progress. I slow down and seem to have accepted that some of these paintings take a lot of layering. I’ve also started to add more emotion over the past couple of days.

Secondly, I see more than one trend in these. There’s a couple of ‘non-real’ animals, truly imaginary, and a couple that seems stylized real animals. Also some look like they could be in a kid’s picture book or story, but others do not seem to fit that category. That’s the ‘I need at least 20 or 30’ line explained I think.

The motto ‘tomorrow there’s another day!’ still goes. Remember I chose the motto as it represents the embracing of imperfection. If I do art every day, obviously there will be better days and worse ones. The motto seems to be getting a deeper meaning. I find that doing the series – not just doing the daily work – helps to care less if one piece doesn’t want to work. I become less attached to the one piece of paper and paint and the time I invested. Doing a series helps to cut down on perfectionism and expectations about how my art ‘should’ look.

About my own expectations about my art: I found myself thinking “Do I really want to do children’s book illustrations?” in response to some of these images as some of them seem to fit in that kind of category. I have an impression that illustration isn’t valued as much as ‘more serious art’, whatever that may be. (I surprise myself: what the hell is that, where did that come from?) Also – I may  start out with a small painting looking like an illustration. But I also find I want to expand on some of these small paintings, work on them on a bigger canvas.

I’ll let these thoughts simmer for a bit and will just get to work again tomorrow.

6 comments on “Sara and Elli

  1. memadtwo
    January 11, 2016

    You definitely have a style I think. (K)

  2. I love your style! This is so fun and humorous! Hehe…Well painted as ever! Very nice, Corinne!!

  3. Jaime Louise Call Morton
    January 12, 2016

    Love your blog Corinne. I like reading your thoughts about your work. My art everyday jumps around all the time. I probably need to work in series like you do. I bought Carla’s imaginary animals book but have not done any yer. Maybe I should try. I am loving yours.

    • corinnebekker
      January 12, 2016

      Thanks so much for stopping by and your comment. You know , I thought the same about you when you were doing a series – that it seemed to belong together more than my first ‘dailies’.I loved the series of girls in white dresses. So perhaps you have a jumping around period now – try to enjoy what it may bring. You’ve inspired me so much over the past months. You probably don’t know it. But it’s true!

  4. Sheila Marie Delgado
    January 18, 2016

    Truly wonderful. I think many people think that. Not all of them know anything about art. I greatly admire illustrators. These creatures, real or not, feel like friends. They remind me of why I loved reading so much as a child. 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      January 19, 2016

      Thanks so much for your comment Sheila. What a nice read first thing in the morning. You just made my day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

