Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

And the January theme is…..

(drumroll!) ……… Horses and Pigs!  That is…. I am hoping for this theme to send me back to the type of narrative painting I learned about during Niya Christine’s art retreat in June of 2015. In other words: January will be about character and story in drawing and painting. I may even extend it to last more than one month. To keep me inspired I bought Niya’s calender for 2016. It’s full of Farm animals – with a Niya twist. It’s a blast!

I hope to find animal characters first. It is not just horses and pigs I am after, it could just as well be cats and dogs, foxes and hounds, hedgehogs and hens for all that matters. It’s just that I will be looking for a story between them. Or if it’s just one (at a time), I am looking for words that tell its story. It doesn’t even have to be only animals, it could be about humans too. The pictures to create could also be related to characters that came up in my art work in the past. My search doesn’t have to be for just characters, I could be looking for a place related to the story I am uncovering, or a space that tells a story.

In the days between Christmas and the New Year I’ve been already working on that for a bit, especially with the animals I painted at the time. I will go on from January 1st looking for stories, or fragments of them.

It hasn’t been  easy finding horses, but they are coming. Like on this drawing of day 122, December 31. This could be a horse. (Or a donkey…. what do you think?)

Dec31_IC3set donkey and bird

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I may also start from a known story – to get me going. I may dip into the subjects of the Year of the Fairy Tale (the 2014 year-long class with Carla Sonheim). There was enough there to dip back into: both mixed media technique and information about how to build a storybook. Also, I am joining a wonderful course by Jane Davenport on painting Alice in Wonderland characters by the end of January.

Process notes

This will be my fifth month of daily creating!

I have finished four months (= 122 days) already. You might think it would get easier by now. But this is still a challenge.* Some days are harder, others easier. Some themes of the past four months were easy and exhilarating (faces: I did so many!), others were harder (“Dark and light” really got on my nerves in the end). We’ll see whether I will be doing better now the light is returning. I certainly hope so. Joining courses may help too.

I remember several times when I produced drawings and paintings there were people telling me there might be a story to tell. I didn’t know how to find that story at the time. I didn’t attempt to look for it either. I wasn’t after stories then. Now I will give it a try. This month’s theme is both an exciting and scary adventure. I am puzzled by this. Why is this scary? I could fail and for some reason this is important to get it right. Well, the only thing I can do, is just go for it. After all, the mantra still goes: there’s always another day! 🙂

*  Want to support my challenge? Check back often and leave a comment, please. That totally makes my day!

 

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

