Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 113 Flowers of youth

…. and more.

It’s Christmas, not something I particularly like – especially all the push for buying stuff in ads, wherever you look. To me this season is an occasion for rest, a time for taking stock and – the best – for seeing people I love. During the holidays I will be making art as best I can, I will be revisiting some drawing exercises that work well always: drawing, drawing, drawing. A black pen and a sketchbook will always fit in my bag. And when I can, I will do watercolor or perhaps revisit a theme from a past class. Or perhaps even do a class that was on my wish list for a while (making paper dolls with Carla Sonheim).

I figured it would be nice to post some work in progress. Happy pieces and pieces that are moving in a direction I like.

 

Dec22 FLowers of Youth_30Pday4

“Flowers of Youth”, mixed media on A4 size watercolor paper. This has taken a while to get to this stage where I like it.

In November I was ill for a while. On two days (November 24 and 25) I could barely think, let alone think about making something. On both days I put down some watercolor on a watercolor page, but didn’t like it much.The second day I added a thin layer of gesso, brayering, which moved paint to other places too. I used crayon – and made darkers marks that stood out in a way I didn’t like.

Nov24 25 random start page #1 c

 

Adding the collage bits the other day got rid of that over powering arc.

A fun little detail in this piece. I am using book pages from a  book I love (Chaim Potok, The Chosen). It’s about a Jewish young man who is supposed to become a rabbi like his father. He’s having lots of discussions with his best friend. They are discussing religion and science, and you can feel the one struggling with his calling. I didn’t realize at first, but there’s a paragraph in this piece where the two young men are discussing Freud’s methodology – which came as one piece into the collage – not planned, but I like it. I once studied philosophy – including philosophy of science, that’s why this bit speaks to me even more. 🙂

‘He knows Freud backwards and forwards. He told me he wasn’t objecting to Freud’s conclusions as much as his methodology. He said Freud’s approach was based on his own limited experiences. He generalized on the basis of a few instances, a few private patients.’ ‘That’s the problem of induction in a nutshell’, I said.” (Quote from Chaim Potok, The Chosen)

Dec20 addedto random start nov2425_crop

Here’s the other piece in November. Nice color, weird grungy gesso layer. 🙂 Not much yet… (Don’t forget: I was ill.)

Nov24 25 pattern page #2 c

On December 20, while I was working on collage anyway I decide to add some collage material and some gesso.

Dec20 addedto pattern of nov2425

This has a future too, I know it.

PS I suddenly noticed the Dutch flag in the bottom left, haha. Not intentional, but now I just had to post it in this direction. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 25, 2015 by in Collage, My work, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , .
Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

