Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Celebrating 101 days of daily creating

Dec10 Pastel resist night sky #2a Utrecht

Yesterday was Daily Creating 101! I feel like celebrating. What better way than to make an early new year’s eve picture of my city with fire works?
I used the crayon resist night sky technique from Diane Culhanes lesson from the Kids Art Week this summer.

The one on the bottom is number 101, my trial run, just with a tower in the distance. The one on the top, the real celebration, is number 102, I drew the skyline before cutting. Taking a little more time to get it to look a bit like my city of Utrecht.

The well-known Dom tower, which can be seen from far away all around the city, is taking center stage. Dom tower is 112 meter high. There is a rule no one is allowed to build higher. This city has been my home for more than 30 years now. I love that you can see the tower from far away.

Here’s the trial run for the piece above, my day 101 piece:

Dec10 Pastel resist night sky #1 crop

LINKS

Find Diane Culhanes lesson from the Kids Art week on youtube. There’s five more lessons on Carla Sonheims Youtube page: one more from Diane , 2 from Lynn Whipple and 2 from Carla Sonheim herself. All great fun to do. Try them during the holidays, with your kids or with friends, if you haven’t already.

My cutting of the skyline above is based on this ‘wall sticker’ of the Utrecht skyline. ( I had to extend the horizon line a bit to the right to get it to fit the fireworks image.)

Some photos of Utrecht buildings can be found on this Utrecht skyline website.

For the start of the 101 days, look on the post announcing my Year of Daily creating, announcing the first theme (faces).

My website page “A Year of Creating Daily”, with a summary of each month (work in progress)

 

PS I will show pieces of the other days later.

 

 

 

8 comments on “Celebrating 101 days of daily creating

  1. DrawingConnections
    December 11, 2015

    Is this oil pastel and watercolour? Nice texture and works well for fireworks! Thanks for sharing links – will look those up.

    • corinnebekker
      December 11, 2015

      HI! Thanks for stopping by. Yes it is as you think. You’ll see how it works in the video (follow the link). Enjoy!

  2. kathiwerner
    December 11, 2015

    Congratulations Corinne for this achievement! Enjoying to follow your project through the year and to see in what a productive flow you are!

    • corinnebekker
      December 11, 2015

      Thanks so much Kathrin! I seem to be getting more into the flow again. It didn’t feel like that for a while, but the new theme really inspires me. I see interesting development in your work too. I loved the croc genie images. πŸ™‚

  3. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash)
    December 11, 2015

    Awesome!!! Beautiful fireworks and congrats on 101 days, Corinne!! πŸ’•πŸ˜ƒ

  4. Jill Kuhn
    December 11, 2015

    Beautiful Corinne! Congrats on your achievement! YAY! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❀

method two madness

a blog of two friends

