Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Catching up on #dailycreating, days 80 through to 90

2015-11-19 10.36.30

Day 80 / Nov 19. I hadn’t logged day 80 yet: a 15 minute session that led to this – let’s call it a sketch.

I just wanted to put down a ‘start’ of a background in the morning and work on later, so I pasted some washi tape down and added some  Neocolor crayon. Then I figured – what the heck – let’s throw some paint down, scratched in some drawings in Stabilo all pencil, added some more paint and  crayons and it was done in 15 minutes. I am leaving it like this – as an instalment on the #nanojoumo 15minutes challenge.(#nanojoumo: art journaling month, make one page or spread every day; the 15 minutes challenge: do each in 15 minutes max.)

Day 81 I did some drawings at the hairdresser’s. You can find the post here.

Day 82 was a Saturday when I had guests (bookclub dinner), the day after (day 83) I was cleaning up first. Both days I just put in some work on backgrounds for collages, to be added to later:

For weeks I’ve been wanting to do some monoprinting using my Gelli plate. On day 84 (Monday November 23) I felt there was enough time. So I pulled out my Gelli plate and paints (three blues, two greens, a red and a yellow; black, white, brown) and made a lot of ‘painted pages’ – pages with just one color – and some layered prints.

Here’s some prints I liked as is, though I may crop them or add something to them. The painted pages I made that day, I intended to use the next day, day 85.

Day 85. I had been preparing on Sunday for my oil painting class, but wasn’t completely ready. I wanted to make an abstraction of a beach scene I painted two years ago. Starting out with the painted papers seemed an idea…. but in the end I started working rather minutely and got into a representational mode. I will have to try again. So this is work in progress; probably I will make more versions, more and less abstract.

Nov24collage landscape WIP c

Being sick and trying to be creative.

And then I got ill and missed a few days. The day of the beach scene I started on my day work, got through most of the rest of the day OK. By the end of the day I wasn’t feeling too well (I felt extremely slow and SO COLD), but hoping an early night might help. I got up the next day with a splitting head ache. I even went to my Yoga class hoping for it to subside. But no such luck, afterwards I went home and didn’t know how quick I could get back to bed. For two days I slept and slept and hardly did a thing. On the second day I only thought about trying to work on something… but decided not to. I tried putting some random marks to a page, but I didn’t feel good enough to go on. On day 3 I found that just gluing random pieces of paper down was OK. As long as I didn’t have to think! So I added some to the cover of a handmade journal. I even added the beginning of a drawing. I had to leave the painting till later. By the weekend I added some paint to the face. By Sunday (day 90) I had a journal cover complete (not a master piece, but good enough).

It’s at these times that you notice that making art work takes energy. Some say it takes a lot of decision making, tiny decisions often, but decisions anyway. Even the faintest decision was too much. Incredible to be able to feel that.

I was glad I had a few posts scheduled for the week.  🙂

5 comments on “Catching up on #dailycreating, days 80 through to 90

  1. memadtwo
    December 2, 2015

    Hope you are feeling better now. Love the beach scene especially. (K)

    • corinnebekker
      December 5, 2015

      Thanks for you kind comment. I am a lot better, thanks. And with the choice of a new theme I feel very much like doing a lot of art again. 🙂

  2. Sand Salt Moon
    December 2, 2015

    Yes, hope you are feeling better ~ and don’t push yourself too hard. I enjoy your beach collage and your portrait, too.

    • corinnebekker
      December 5, 2015

      Thanks so much for your comment and concern. I am all right. I am giving myself leeway to do tiny small projects (a drawing) some days and go for it when time and energy allow it. ❤

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

