Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 70 Fox painting on smash page

or: One of the best of November so far

I kept from yesterday’s post two paintings I think were among the best of the first half of November. They are a piece about a fox in mixed media (see below) and an oil painting (W.I.P.). Here’s the fox and how it came about.

FOX:

Nov9 Fox #6 crop

Fox. Ink, acrylic, gesso and watercolor on sketchbook paper. 42 x 29.7 cm.

Before I painted this one, I made several fox drawings first to get to know my subject. I didn’t really plan to also paint a fox the same day. When I saw the paper with orange and green marks on it – that was lying on my stash of prepared background  – it fitted the bill precisely. So I just drew with ink and added gesso and watercolor.

 

How the fox came about (what I wrote the day after)

Day 70 / November 9. Several things came together in this painting. I was feeling stressed over something. I should be doing homework for my oil painting class. But I felt I needed to draw to calm me. I have joined a painting challenge recently, to make a painting with animals every two weeks. Because I thought I could do with the inspiration and being in a group like that. The current challenge is to make a painting with a fox in it. So I started out making drawings of the fox, not a subject I’ve worked on before. Starting with drawing felt like a good idea, fun to try, and probably wouldn’t succeed at first and that was OK with me. Just drawing to get the feel of the animal in preparation for a painting which I probably would do later. I was starting to feel better , that worked for me too. In the end I thought I’d better go one step further, and use what I gained from the drawings (seeing, seeing) to put it into a colored painting straight away.

You should know that earlier on in the day I smashed some paint on top of pages that were already colored a bit. As a result the pages were at the forefront of my mind. Making smash pages has been my go to arting method for the last two weeks. Something I can do quickly – even when nothing else works, this will be waiting to finish some other day. And this day it worked! I picked one of my smash pages. It seemed to fit the color scheme needed for a fox (orangish brown on it and green for the background).

Another thing worked in favor of this painting coming about. I have recently been drawing in ink some more too (not animals, but hey! that’s ok) – so I’m getting used to drawing with a brush. I didn’t know if I could do the fox , but thought: ‘Let’s try if I can do this in ink’ (and no worries, as tomorrow there’s another day, remember?). So ‘off I went’, grabbed the ink, a brush and drew it. And then splashed watercolor on it and carved it out of the background with line and gesso.

I wanted to be quick about it, fit it into a 15 minute time frame. I figured that would be good too, to give up the idea of perfect paintings.

I made a photo with the paint and gesso still wet. The end result is slightly lighter.

2 comments on “Day 70 Fox painting on smash page

  1. kathiwerner
    November 20, 2015

    Love your fox, fits so well with the background!

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

