Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

November : Abstracts and violence

Abstract backgrounds are a returning thing in November. At the start of the month and on November 14, late at night, I followed the same approach, layering different media until it was too wet to go on. More to be added to at a later time. At the beginning of the month I used some shiny paper in these pages. Later on in the month I returned to doing the layering mixed media.

What lay in between the first set of two and the last set of two? Lots of art (drawing, painting, mixed media). But most of all: shocking acts of violence.

Violence and art

The violence in Paris on the evening of November 13, much like violence elsewhere lately, shocked me. When I heard what was going on in Paris I looked at news from Twitter. Later we put on the television. For a while we were looking at the stories unfolding. Later, I asked myself, will I do what some other artists are doing and paint an Eiffel tower, or hearts, or whatever people come up with in the face of this. I decided not to. I understand the feelings and intentions of those who do. But I was also a bit shocked by this sudden wave of showing solidarity with the French. There’s been so many more violent acts recently, so many more heart breaking news over the past months: refugees in boats drowning, choking to death trapped in the back of lorries, drowning in the sea. Killings due to bombing, such as in Turkey, Lebanon to name just two recent examples. And now Paris. I decided to move on. Terrorists want us to be afraid and bring our lives into disarray. I decided not to change the art I make, perhaps only slightly – if only because art expresses my mood. When I made the last two pieces on Day 75 I added deep dark splatter – thinking about terrorists bringing hate into the world and spreading fear.

I did change something of course. For one, I had been working on a blogpost showing my progress during the first 14 days of November. I decided to post this first. The rest will come later. Also the 75th  day might have led me to celebrate. I didn’t. I didn’t feel like celebrating at all. What I will celebrate in days to come, is the sharing of art.

3 comments on “November : Abstracts and violence

  1. Pingback: Day 73 Abstracts in sketchbook | Corinne maakt

  2. Pingback: Day 74 A fun page and day 75 | Corinne maakt

  3. Pingback: Day 76 Three portraits | Corinne maakt

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

