Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Smash page landscapes

I am happily doing my daily art, nothing’s changed on that field. I will get back  with images some time soon, but not today. As I said the other day, I am getting away from the daily posting for a bit. I find that’s a relief at the moment. For the daily creating I see three main topics and techniques this month: (1) a series of mixed media backgrounds (that will eventually get a focal image, or not) just to explore and have fun; (2) sketchbook drawing and painting – following the Sketchbook class; (3) I am taking an oil painting class on a weekly basis with Mieke Siemons at Knockart Studio. Then occasionally I do other mixed media work. Some of it started because I joined the “15 minutes art journaling challenge” for a while – following Iris Fritschi-Cussens (from Iris Impressions).She was inspired by Dawn De Vries Sokoll who named November “Art Journaling Month” and posts daily prompts on her website. This initiative seems inspired by the “National Novel Writing Month” – NaNoWriMo – which helps some people whip out enough pages to write a book). In the art journaling month the idea is to make art journaling a daily practice. This seemed fun and an option to stay inspired on the daily art thing, so I tried it for a few days.

Smash page landscapes

Here’s what this page promised: landscape art. I’ve been doing landscapes in some of my journals. Why do I call them smash paintings? When painting I sometimes keep these little journals around to make  something quickly when I stop and there’s still paint on my palette. I just ‘smash’ the leftover paint in a journal to make something later. This is a habit that I took from one of my art journalling teachers in 2014. It’s a pity to throw good paint away isn’t it? Lately these smashing moments often lead to a landscape. I have done about seven landscapes since September.

Imaginary Landscape, september 29. Small journal.

Imaginary Landscape, September 29. Small journal.

And from another journal:

Psketchbook landscapes #2 crop

I was pondering new themes the other day, remember? This is where the idea for imaginary landscapes came from. 🙂

6 comments on “Smash page landscapes

  1. Iris
    November 11, 2015

    Absolutely LOVE that first landscape!

  2. Jill Kuhn
    November 15, 2015

    I did this with the leftover paint I had from Carla’s Fingerpainting class and was amazed with the landscape I created. I like what you have created here, Corinne! 😊 YAY!

    • corinnebekker
      November 17, 2015

      Thanks! Cool that you do that too. Now you mention Carla’s Fingerpainting class : I also used smash pages as background for finger paintings.

  3. kathiwerner
    November 16, 2015

    My favorite also is this wonderful first landscape.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2015 by in My work.
Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

