Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Pondering new themes

These are photo’s from a walk I made earlier this week. I want to take walks like that more often. It’s relaxing, it’s exercise and it helps to fill up the mind with images. Actually, on that day I wanted to do some sketching outside, but after just a few sketches it started to rain. So I made some photos and then drew at home.

I’m still making things every day. Some days it’s just simple pages, simple ideas. Drawings, playing with media, trying to make a 15 minute art journal page  (part of the Art Journaling Month initiatives that art journalers have started), going back to fun things like finger painting and more things like that. And of course I work on oil painting every Tuesday evening during the class I’m taking.

I took the decision not to post so often anymore. This suddenly feels sooo right. It allows me more time to look ahead, to do personal stuff and work more in my business (which needs some attention right now). On the personal side, I have a son who has to start thinking about what’s next after school. We like to help him along a bit, join him on his tour of schools of advanced education. It’s quite fun actually. But also busy, especially during the month of November, and probably also in January and March. So I am going to keep myself to the decision of posting less for this month.

In DECEMBER I will probably choose a theme again. Which may be anything from the following shortlist (or something that comes up in the month to come):

  • “Dark and Light” (considering it’s the darkest period of the year , at least where I live, and other life and seasonal subject matter);
  • “Pigs and Horses” (referring to my plan to work on narrative painting again) or “Dogs and Damsels” (I may need an excuse to paint faces again… 🙂 ) ;
  • “Abstracts” (I feel like doing many abstracts and see whether I can stick with it for a whole month);
  • “Birds, birds, birds” (I still love birds and I would love to do a certain bird painting class);
  • “Magic and mythical beasts”
  • Deep sea flora and fauna: this may turn into drawings and paintings of real or imaginary flora and fauna. I love the idea of the deep see fish carrying it’s own little lamp for instance…. and monstrous looking fish.
  • Imaginary landscapes.
4 comments on “Pondering new themes

  1. Jill Kuhn
    November 14, 2015

    Sounds like some excellent ideas for December themes Corinne. 😊
    I look forward to seeing what you do – always FABULOUS !! 🎨💜🌈

    • corinnebekker
      November 16, 2015

      Thanks Jill, for your continued support. Glad to see you online again.

  2. kathiwerner
    November 16, 2015

    Sounds like ideas for the next few months….

    • corinnebekker
      November 16, 2015

      Yes, Kathrin, I am just auditioning them – which theme is closest to my heart.

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

