Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

79 Faces and a dog

Or: On daily art making – day 59 and 60.

Okay, don’t worry. I didn’t spend all day to make 79 faces and a dog. It’s really not that hard to make so many faces. Especially when you’re in Carla Sonheims class (Faces mini) or Cat Bennetts sketchbook class.

Carla’s miniclass class leads to 50 faces this week (I haven’t tried it yet; but I did the Faces 101 class several times in the past, so I know what kind of assignments are going on there).

Cat Bennetts sketchbook class is so much fun. It’s just so wonderful to follow her directions. Cat leaves it to us how many faces we make, she just asked us to fill 5 pages with faces, trying to draw like we did when we were a kid.  Drawing like a kid is not easy – as we’re not kids anymore. So many thoughts and expectations can get in the way. Also it’s hard to unlearn what we’ve learned, how to do faces for instance. We can try to make ourselves feel as free as most kids when they pick up a pencil. (There’s a Picasso quote: it took me four years to learn how to draw realistically, it took a lifetime to learn how to draw like a kid again.). I looked at Cats Tuesday video of week 4 and just had to try and make some faces. She was so inviting! Where I was sitting I had ink, not charcoal. So I did four ink pages first, and then one with charcoal and gesso. Wow, that was fun. Faces with hair in all directions, looking surprised, puzzled, tired, angry; one seems to be blowing (?). Some are looking up or down, left or right.

[I’m counted them – 76 faces! and a dog. A dog? Yes, I started out one page with marks that just said ‘dog’ to me. Go find it, you’ll see.]

She also showed us how to draw portraits by using several colored pencils. I love this way of drawing.

2015-10-30 10.46.12

The first drawing I was looking at how Cat Bennett was working, and trying to draw from her reference photo. It kind of shows in the result. That and perhaps that it was late at night. 🙂

On day 60 I took some photos from my photo stash. I collected a heavy stack for my faces workshop last week. Aha, that’s nice, it makes for an easy way to pick some out of the stack and get a quick start on today’s daily creation session. That’s better , as I still have to do other chores and get to work too. 🙂

I think these took about 15 to 30 minutes. The guy below took a little longer, I had to patiently put in the beard stubble. I’m incredibly happy with this result. Such a fun technique to draw in several colors. 🙂

Oct30 Janneke S 2015-10-30 10.38.17

2 comments on “79 Faces and a dog

  1. nklfineart
    November 1, 2015

    Love all the work and faces but the last one just pulled me in. the expression and color choice were lovely

    • corinnebekker
      November 1, 2015

      Thank you! I really appreciate your comment. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

