Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 49 A doodle painting, splashes of color, loads of them

Oct 19_YoPbg_flowersand bird_crop

I took a background I made at an earlier time, using acrylic ink on wet watercolor paper (oops no photo of the first layer) and added opaque paint and line work using paint pens.

I don’t have real progress shots, which is a pity, because I loved the vibrancy of the colors that are under this drawing – and only peeping through in a few places now. But I did make some overview pictures of many backgrounds and paintings, and on one of those I found a piece of it. I’ve cropped it from that photo:

Ink blooms_crop

There’s quite a bunch of background and unfinished paintings sitting in a stack in my office. I photographed some of it at the end of September. I will show you some, just to give an impression of how much more is getting made these days, besides the things I’ve shown. Some in the same color scheme – like that giraffe in the first picture.

Today I started several other paintings using a similar method as I used on the background of todays drawing, by spreading acrylic ink on a wet surface. Wet into wet, lovely fluidity, limited possibility to steer the process. Two on paper, one on a canvas board. As they were wet for a long time, I will take them further on another day.

I rather like the result on the one with warm colors (red, orange, yellow and brown). It’s supposed to be only a background – on which to add other layers of paint, but I already like it quite a bit.

What do you think, my reader? Should I leave it, or add more to it?

Acrylic paint on canvas board. Day 49.

Acrylic paint on canvas board. Day 49. WIP

Just for the fun of it, some detail shots:

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

