Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 43 Sketchbook faces and a vase, flower and fruit scene

Day 43 I was tired and not sure what to make. I decided to just start scribbling and see what happens. Following what color suits my need or just feels nice, interesting or the perfect ‘next’. First choice was blue. Out came a face. Next page I went on in similar fashion and made another face, but started with a green crayon.

Crayon face, blue start.

Crayon face, blue start.

Crayon face, green start

Crayon face, green start

Sketchbook assignment: 2-shape-drawing

I am also in the Sketchbook class, doing the assignments. Mondays assignment was to create two shapes and draw on top. I started shapes in two sketchbooks. And drew on top of the first with a stabilo all pencil with the watercolor still wet. The pencil reacts like a watercolor pencil almost, so got darker where it’s wet. As I thought of a vase, I drew flowers and made the second shape into a fruit (or pumkin), I added some other fruit next to it. Then I figured it would look better with more paint, so added some to the tangerines and to the flowers in the vase.

Process notes

I find that my choice of the theme – flowers and flying critters – was driven by mind not by what I feel or need. I think it would be a good theme, and it does allow me to go back to earlier lessons or experiment with new techniques (both of which I like). But it was driven by what I think and what I want to achieve, not by what I feel. I felt tired at the beginning of the month. I am glad I decided to take the theme and allow myself to be more free in what I do from day to day. Also because I like to follow along with the idea of Cat Bennetts class, just working daily and finding out what’s there from day to day. What do I feel like? And as I allow myself to follow my need and be free this month, I find I move in and out of the flower theme. They do speak to me, as you can tell from this drawing above, but just not every day.

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

