Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 36 to Day 40 Enjoying my sketchbooks and media

October 6 was also day 36 of my journey. I joined the Sketchbook Class by Cat Bennett. October 6 was the first day of class. I am thinking it will inform my daily practice in meaningful ways. The first assignment is about making marks on the page in an abstract manner. I like it. It is allowing me to not worry much about final results, to rest for a bit (which is what I need right now) while still going on with my daily creating practice. I am also reading her wonderful book Making art a practice and liking it a lot. I may write about why later on.

I am sharing some of the daily sketchbook work I have been doing this week, day by day. On October 6 I did both flowers and sketchbook work (see earlier post). I intended to be more free this month in when I do things within my theme. And this week I felt just doing the sketchbook work is quite enough. But of course occasionally I just picked up a page and added a flower or a face from time to time. Especially in my altered books from Lynn Whipples Word Play Painting class.

Day 37 Sketchbook pages. As Cat Bennett asked us to start doing a day making marks in only one color, I did that on day 37. I found it opened me up to experience how the brush moves on the page and how that felt that day.

Day 38 Sketchbook pages: some just one color, others more colors. All watercolors. I am enjoying playing with different kind of marks. Bold and broad or small and jumpy.

Day 39 Sketchbook pages. trying out pastel pencils on mixed media journal.

Day 40 / October 10 Opaque watercolor. Playing with just two colors mixed together and how I hold the brush.

Oct10 three pieces collage #2 Oct10 three pieces collage

I am looking forward to doing many more of these pages. It’s very nice to just enjoy the color or the brush.

As I said I haven’t tried to paint flowers in these pages. I do see birds sometimes. 🙂

PS If you’re interested in this sketchbook class, look at the description of the class and the short video interview with Cat Bennett on Carla Sonheim presents website.

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

