Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

September: looking back on the first month of the Year of Daily Creating

9 faces of September

9 faces of September

September has come and gone. September was the first month of daily creating, 30 days in total. (I keep telling myself that I did 15 days of practice before that. So actually, it’s 45!)

September was all about faces. And boy, did I make a lot of face art. I haven’t counted it all by the end of the month. I did count at September 21, after 21 days, and then I found I had 55 drawings already and 28 paintings (8 small watercolors, 5 quick watercolors, and 9 mixed media/ acrylic paintings, 5 Gelato drawings/paintings and one small oil painting).

At the end of the month I did a lesson of Year of the Spark – which led to a stack of faces, at least 15. So I think it’s safe to say I reached a 100 faces in one month.

Inspired by Leslie Saeta who organized a 30 painting in 30 days in September, I made some collages of all the art work I did in September.

The 3 x 3 collage is an overview of the kinds of pieces I made, and from these some I are results I really liked. I am thinking about turning this into a card.

Wouldn’t that be fun?

September faces collage.

September faces collage.

The larger collage contains mostly colored pieces.

You can see I used different techniques:

  • drawings in pencil
  • pen drawings
  • drawings in Neocolor crayons and gesso in altered books
  • pen drawings with watercolor
  • watercolor sketches and paintings
  • Gelato faces in vibrant colors : I think of them as my Wild Faces
  • mixed media paintings, men’s faces and Goddess Paintings
  • one small oil painting

I also made some photographs last week of many pieces together on my floor at home. Awesome to see it together. I can’t show them all together as most drawings are in a sketchbook (60 pages almost full!, and most (Gelato) Wild Faces are in a journal together.

And so many ideas have sprung from it, I would love my days to have 34 hours instead of 24 to be able to follow up on them! πŸ™‚

Even though I still have ideas about faces, I am turning to flowers first. Unless there is a great need for faces in the world, of course. Be sure to let me know…. In that case I might just return to them sooner. πŸ™‚

PS I haven’t posted every day since day 35, to take a break from daily posting. If I don’t resume soon, I will probably summarize day 36-40 during the weekend.

6 comments on “September: looking back on the first month of the Year of Daily Creating

  1. In Art Therapy
    October 9, 2015

    Wonderful faces! I wish there were more hours in a day too!

    • corinnebekker
      October 10, 2015

      Thank you. Glad that I am not alone in that. πŸ™‚

  2. Jill Kuhn
    October 10, 2015

    Excellent work Corinne! YAY! You did it!! WHOOT WHOOT!!! πŸŽ¨πŸ’œπŸ˜Š

  3. grlie
    October 10, 2015

    Oh what an achievement! They are really great!

    • corinnebekker
      October 10, 2015

      Thank you so much. Glad to hear that you like them!

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❀

method two madness

a blog of two friends

