Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 31 of Daily Creating : New Theme

Announcing the theme for October : flowers, florals and flying critters. Tada!

I thought I’d better keep it on the sketchy side for the first day, to get going. Here’s my first stab at the theme:

For a while I had several options in my mind (flowers and flourishes, pigs and horses, others I don’t remember) – and like last month – it seemed rather hard to choose. I started to add things to the Flowers and flourishes many starting with an ‘f’: Flowers, floral motifs and flourishes. And critters. And finishing. A lot of fussing was going on in my mind. I will spare you all of that.

Here’s a list to give you an idea how I am going about it this month. Summing up:

  • Flowers, florals, flourishes and flying critters (= main theme)
  • I want a sense of freedom to move in and out of my theme this month – and find out how that works for me;
  • I have faces to finish, I want to do more faces (!).
  • I’ll leave room to finish some pieces from before September. Finishing whenever I feel like it, like lessons from the Word painting class by Lynn Whipple; Word paintings and Faces! I also want to finish the lessons of Julie Johnson Scribble Art course;
  • Do assignments from courses, when I feel like it. Brief assignments for busy days. Longer lessons when I have the time. I am dying to find out what Cat Bennett has to offer during the class on Sketchbooks. Whenever I need inspiration to fill the 30 minutes, the class will provide it, I’m sure.
  • The flower theme will leave room to revisit lessons from the past (I loved Diane Culhanes Painting your Garden class!) – and also to do lessons from Alena Hennessy’s A year of painting ( floral motifs abound).

Stuff to work on or think about?

  • I can still improve on how much time I spend on blogging and related things.
  • I also find that I am tired. I may have to take it a little slower on the posting side.
2 comments on “Day 31 of Daily Creating : New Theme

  1. Jill Kuhn
    October 2, 2015

    I like your new theme, Corinne! I also like that you are going to continue creating more faces! I am so enjoying seeing your style evolve. I understand about being tired. It is hard to get it all done. The blogging does take time and I’m finding it is harder to keep up daily when I’m working more. I know we will both figure out what works best. Glad to see you creating with such JOY! 😊🌈💜🎨

    • corinnebekker
      October 8, 2015

      Thanks Jill for your response. I enjoyed doing so many faces. And will definitely return to them. I already miss them. 🙂
      Tired may have been a virus lurking as well, as I had headaches for days this week. Anyway, art on any day whatever happens. We’ll see where I’ll end up after 365 days!

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

