Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

I am in love! or: Art Journaling in Iceland #1

Washi, neocolor II, watercolor and markers.

Washi, neocolor II, watercolor and markers.

In July I spent two weeks in Iceland. Not to do Art Journaling of course, but to get a good look at the country! We wanted to go there very much. But because it’s quite expensive had put it off for a while. It’s a special country with a lot of geothermal  and vulcanic activity. Both have left marks in the landscape and the history of the country. It’s been a great holiday! (some more info later?)

Given its position on the globe the days are very long in Iceland in the summer. Even after a long day of sight-seeing, driving to a new place, there’s still a long evening with natural light. The sun went up at about 4 in the morning and went down not long before midnight. Even after sundown it was still light. In good weather conditions at midnight it looked like the sun had just set just now.

This situation allowed me to draw outside in daylight – even at 11 o’clock at night (11 PM). Or sit at a table near a window and paint, paint, paint! Sometimes my men folk would watch a movie and I would sit nearby experimenting in my journal, while keeping an eye on the movie from where I sat.

I started out taking some inspiration from Marieke Blokland (of Bloknote academy) and also by work I had done before in the past. I had taken with me only limited supplies and gradually I started experimenting with two of the supplies: Neocolor II crayons (the watersoluble ones) and watercolor. Every day I found out something new, especially about how to layer them, about what I liked best when layering them. I applied other ideas. It was fun experimenting on my own, every day.

Yes, I am in love. In love with my neocolor II’s and watercolor.With birds and washi tape. And with daily creating. 🙂

PS: Every day? Yes, every day. Even on the plane home I brought pencils and a sketchbook. And drew all kinds of faces. That saved me from the boredom of sitting still for three hours.

PPS: All of this was done in a very affordable Art Journal, a Seawhite of Brighton, A4 sized journal, 140grams paper, 210×297 cm pages with a simple cover.

One comment on “I am in love! or: Art Journaling in Iceland #1

  1. Jill Kuhn
    October 4, 2015

    Love seeing your art experiments Corinne! I agree, it is so fun to play! 😊 Sounds like you had a wonderful holiday! YAY! 😄🎨💛

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

