Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 27 and 28 Wild faces and a short blogging break

I’ve just counted how many painted faces I produced this month.At least 45. If I include all drawngs, there must be a 100 faces by now. Wow. I also made some pictures to see how much it is. I will post those later. Let me just tell you about the daily creating, it’s been really fun. I will proceed for the next few days making one face a day. As far as blogging is concerned, I am going to take a short break. I feel tired and need to take a step back. Also I need to think for a bit about what’s next. Will be back on October 1st to tell you how I will go on. If I will take a new theme, or proceed making faces, I don’t know yet. There’s a lot that’s pulling at me, that I want to make. šŸ™‚

Here’s a work in progress from this month’s Year of the Spark lesson by Lynn Whipple.

Marker and soft pastel on printing paper.

Marker and soft pastel on white paper.

This is a result from the 18th lesson of Year of the Spark. Carla Sonheim and Lynn Whipple take turns in thinking up interesting and fun lessons. The guiding idea for the whole year long class is to keep the spark of creativity going – in all kinds of ways. Sometimes by trying out a fun technique, sometimes by doing composition assignments, doing a lot of drawing, copying master art work and so on.

This month’s lesson contains several fun assignments , urging us to making a lot of work and trying not to fuss over it for too long. (Carla’s lesson this month was similar in this way).

The warm up part of the lesson started with drawing our own face – but only by touching it. Really fun. Not the most brilliant drawings, but OK, cause that was not the point of doing them.

I will not give away all of the elements of the next assignment, but it involves a lot of quick drawing and I ended up with these fun drawings below (the first four done according to assignment; the final two just quick sketches after a photo reference). The idea is to add pastel colors (no thinking!) and then cut them up and use to find new compositions. I still have to get to that part. I just love these what comes out of these. I know I will have a lot of fun with what come next.

Meanwhile on day 28 I made another set of these. I will copy them first at the local library, before cutting them up. šŸ™‚

By the time you read this, day 29, I will have made a lot more faces, added paint and gesso, and more. šŸ™‚

But I am keeping some of that for myself for a few days. Will post later. Tomorrow I will post something that was written a little while back, that is still fun to share.

See you soon!

2 comments on “Day 27 and 28 Wild faces and a short blogging break

  1. grlie
    September 30, 2015

    I love these faces! They are so expressive.

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ā¤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

