Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Extra post: Where do I get my inspiration for my faces?

I have been sharing some of my drawings and paintings lately, and sometimes I told you about a class that was going on. Like the Year of the Spark. Some of my inspiration I get from lessons I’ve taken in the past either real life workshops and courses, like the ones I have taken at Knockart Studio in Vianen, The Netherlands, since 2011. I like to go to museums and see work by the famous artists. But I also like to see what other more ordinary people like me make. That’s one of the reasons why I joined year long courses like The Year of the Spark – and Life Book 2014 (hosted by Tamara Laporte) and the Year of the Giraffe (hosted by Carla Sonheim) in the past. It’s great to be among other art makers, share what you make and learn from teachers ánd other participants.

Another nice example of courses where I got my inspiration – and still do – is from work done by art journalers and teachers of courses on art journaling.  One of those courses I have taken last year is the course by Effy Wild, Radiant. It was all about Faces. So I might use those lessons for my face drawings. But that’s not what this post is about.

Now I finally get to it – if you think you might like such a wonderful course too,  you might like the course Radiant II, It starts on October 1st. I love how Effy Wild has found so many wonderful teachers.

I will give you just one example why I’m excited about this class. Among the teachers is Juna Bagioni who makes really intriguing portraits. I learned some techniques from her this summer. I used them on this portrait of a woman, the left picture above. Then later when I started this month of faces, I made the male face, in which I use some of what she taught. On the third picture I am more in between several techniques – I am not even sure anymore which classes were more inspiring me, but there’s something of lessons by Alena Hennessy with some Effy and Juna inspiration mixed in.

Anyway, Juna promises that she will show us how she does her mysterious portraits in her lesson “Fly into the Unknown” on Radiant II. Her trailler looks intriguing. I know it’s going to be fun. Juna is a very creative person, she’s developed an interesting style of her own. And now she teaches herself in this exciting line-up.

Juna is just one of the teachers of Radiant II, of course. There are 15 in total and each is sharing interesting mixed media techniques. On the teacher line – up are for instance: Tamara Laporte (famous for Life Book, a year long mixedmedia course that has been going on since 2012 with a new set of teachers each year), Tangie Baxter, Dyan Reavely, Micki Wilde and several others. Among the teachers I noticed artists I hadn’t heard of before, but whose work looks really interesting. Nolwenn Petitbois, France Papillon and Jeanette Montero, to name but a few.

A particularly interesting feature of this course: Effy Wild  – as the host  – does not only teach her own lesson, but she shows us her take on every other lesson of the other teachers, adding 15 lessons of her own – which is quite an amazing treat! (and an amazing feat too!)

That’s what makes a course like this really fun, jump in and get to know the mixed media techniques of a list of teachers, find out about artists and how they think about their work.

Check it out. There’s a give-away for one more day on Juna’s blog. Check it out. If only for her short sneak peak of her lesson. (edit: give-away now over)

So if you’d like to find out more, go to Effy Wild’s website and look for Radiant II : Art Journals!

PS Some other sneak peaks can be found on youtube, such as a brief video by Marieke Blokland and one by Iris Fritschi Cussens. Just go there and look for ‘sneak peak Radiant’ (or something like that).

4 comments on “Extra post: Where do I get my inspiration for my faces?

  1. Juna
    September 24, 2015

    Thanks so much for sharing Corinne. Maybe I’ll see you in Radiant II!

    • corinnebekker
      September 27, 2015

      Ofcourse, I expect that your lesson will be great. I will see you there! The course is a blast. I am not sure how many lessons I would be able to do, I’m on my own path right now.But even for half of the lessons it would be good value. So… I am in!

  2. Iris
    September 28, 2015

    I can really see you developing your own style within these teachings Corinne, that’s very exciting! Hope you have fun with Radiant, I can’t wait!

    • corinnebekker
      September 28, 2015

      Thanks Iris. Daily practice is what works, isn’t it? I see it in you too. With sudden rushes of moving forward. See you in Radiant!

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

