Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

More drawings of day 15

Inspired by Julie Johnson Drawing. (copy) #scribbleart #jeanneoliverdesigns

Inspired by Julie Johnson Drawing. (copy) #scribbleart #jeanneoliverdesigns

I am taking inspiration from the drawings of Julie Johnson. She’s sharing her approach in a class on Jeanne Oliver’s ning site. She shares what she calls Scribble art. I already love scribbly drawing. Something I’ve taken from some of Carla Sonheim classes and applied during my 101 Bird Challenge for instance. I love using scribbling to  get to know a subject – not so much to get to a finished piece that really looks alike the object.

Julie Johnson’s taken Scribble art to another level, using it in all kinds of media. So I am trying that class to see whether I can use scribbling in new ways. New opportunities for play. Very inspiring.

Here’s a drawing of two girls. I copied one of Julie’s drawings in the class. Almost an exact copy.  This – like many other drawing techniques – is a way for practicing looking well. And seeing. I started out, just to try how the technique worked. Then I got more serious, as it seemed to work. I think it took about 20 – 30 minutes. Don’t know for sure, as I lost track of time. This approach Julie calls ‘directional line drawing’.

I am certainly trying this again.

In fact I did. Later in the day, I took one of my altered books and drew two faces.

The brown drawing was done while looking at a youtube video. It’s the speaker, Gregg Levoy. The hard parts in doing this drawing were: (1) he was moving about all the time; (2) how to get his grey hair and moustache and eyebrows in: the lightest parts of him. I did this by drawing around the shapes instead of the shapes themselves. I tried to use the directional line approach and moved my hand vertically almost all of the time.

Neocolor II on book page.

Neocolor II on book page. From moving image on youtube.

Neocolor II on book page.

The girl in red drawing, is inspired by the black and white drawing above; done from imagination. I gave her a lot of hair. A bit too much. Ah well. Better luck next time. I can always put gesso over it. 🙂

2 comments on “More drawings of day 15

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday)
    September 18, 2015

    Love the man in the book best. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

