Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 11 Looking back at drawings of day 9

Today I finished a painting that needs drying before I scan it. I will share tomorrow. No need to rush it, do I? I do like to keep up the daily posting for a bit. So I am getting back with you about some of the drawings I did on earlier days. I will do that a few times perhaps. It’s great to see how drawing a lot, drawing quickly, seems to work for me.

A thought about failing. Yesterday I thought I failed miserably during the watercoloring for a few minutes. Then I remembered a saying by Picasso – ‘I like my failures. Because they are all mine’. Wise man. I remember thinking that about starting a business too. If I fail at getting a job from someone, at least it will be my failure – not someone else’s. If I make a mistake during a job, I will learn from it, and move on. For some reason that feels so much better.

Here’s some drawings of day 9 . These were done after the same photo reference of the girl of day 7. The girl with a scarf and her hair blowing in the wind.  This is what happened at my drawing table.

It took me several drawings to get a feel of the girl ,the sweater and the wavy hair. This went rather well, actually. After three drawings I was happy with what I knew about her. Three drawings. Sometimes I struggle and go to a different face, just to let go.

Remember, I painted this on day 7:

Watercolor and masking fluid on watercolor paper. 21x 29,7 cm.

Watercolor and masking fluid on watercolor paper.
21x 29,7 cm.

How:

I took watercolor paper, a pencil, masking fluid and watercolor. I put in a few dots with pencil to mark where the eyes should be. Also some dots to mark how big I wanted the head to be (top of painting; the chin; the scarf). I knew from the photo reference there was snow on  the shoulder and a kind of light behind her (fireworks?). I masked the places where those white spots and dashes should be. While the masking fluid was drying on the left side, I started to paint on her face, her eyes and hair. And on. Moving around the painting.

What do you think, should I do this same painting again? See what happens?

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

